|Photos||Video & Audio||Blogs||Statistics||Archive||Shop||Mobile|
ESPNcricinfo presents Plays of the Day for the match between Australia and India in Sydney
Sidharth Monga at the SCG
February 26, 2012
Before the start of the 10th over of the Australia innings, the game stopped for about five minutes. Upon closer observation, the wicketkeeper was missing. Music played, drinks arrived, players joked around until Dhoni came back. By all evidence, he went to answer nature's call. When a man's got to go, a man's got to go.
Had Suresh Raina not let one through at cover, who knows how much India would have had to work to get Michael Hussey out? There shouldn't have been a run, but Hussey saw it go past Raina and charged off. David Warner called him for a second, saw Irfan Pathan was a little too quick in the outfield, and sent Hussey back. India had a run-out.
This was nasty. These often put players out for weeks. In the 21st over, Warner swept Ravindra Jadeja, got a top edge, and Raina and Irfan converged towards the chance. Raina ran back from the infield, Irfan came in from the boundary. Raina was closer to it, Irfan was the man running in. So who should call for it?
Neither man did in this case. Raina completed the catch, and then the two ran into each other. Raina's hands hit Irfan's face, but he did well to not lose the ball on impact. He grabbed it as it was about to fall. The two lay flat after the catch, though. The whole team rushed to check on them, and when the two got up, they patted each other's back for the effort.
It was a day of potentially controversial runs and consultation with the rulebook. After the David Hussey incident, another potential incident happened with Tendulkar. Gautam Gambhir bunted one down to point, and Tendulkar set off for the single straightaway, only to find Brett Lee, the bowler, in his way, near the striker's end, with his back to the non-striker's end. According to the law, it is the batsman's responsibility to run around the bowler; not the bowler's to make way. The only way a batsman can get away with such a run-out is if the fielding side withdraws the appeal. Australia were in no mood to. The supporters of mankading can stretch the point and raise the question why the umpires didn't ask the fielding side to reconsider this appeal.
Edited by Abhishek Purohit
Sidharth Monga is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfoFeeds: Sidharth Monga
© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.
|Comments have now been closed for this article
Plays of the day from the CLT20 match between Dolphins and Lahore Lions in Bangalore
The Plays of the day from the CLT20 match between Kings XI Punjab and Northern Knights, in Mohali