South Africa in England 2012

Kallis rested for England ODIs

ESPNcricinfo staff

July 25, 2012

Comments: 50 | Text size: A | A

Dean Elgar takes off for a run, South Africa A v Australia, 1st day, Potchefstroom, November 1, 2011
Dean Elgar could make his international debut after replacing Jacques Kallis in South Africa's ODI squad © Getty Images
Related Links

South Africa have given the clearest indication yet that Jacques Kallis will form part of their World Twenty20 plans by resting him for the ODI series against England. Kallis has not played T20I cricket for South Africa since the 2010 World Twenty20, apart from a one-off game against India in his honour in March, but was named in a 30-man provisional squad for Sri Lanka last week.

His place in the 15-man party for the five-match ODI series with England will be taken by the uncapped allrounder Dean Elgar. He was named in South Africa's squad to face Sri Lanka in January, before torn knee ligaments prevented him from making an international debut.

Imran Tahir, whose last ODI appearance came in the 2011 World Cup, is recalled, while the seamer Ryan McLaren, who played the last of his 10 ODIs in 2010, also returns after recovering from a side strain sustained while playing for South Africa A earlier in the month. Wayne Parnell remains in the squad despite allegedly testing positive for drugs after a rave party in Mumbai in May following his IPL commitments.

"Dean has been in our plans for some time and might well have made his debut last year but for injury," CSA selection convener, Andrew Hudson, said. "Imran is a genuine wicket-taking bowler and his selection enables us to explore our options in this area.

"Ryan has just come off some exceptional form for the South Africa A side and the added depth he provides in the seam bowling department will allow us to rotate players if we feel the need arises."

Parnell, Faf du Plessis, Justin Ontong, Elgar and McLaren are due to travel to Ireland with South Africa A for two four-day matches and an unofficial ODI, before joining the rest of the squad in England. South Africa will name their squad for the Twenty20 international series against England, as well as the World Twenty20, in August.

South Africa squad AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla (vice-capt), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by dariuscorny on (July 28, 2012, 20:08 GMT)

@Meety much like Aus did loose all the respect i had when they were folded for 47.and lost 4-0 to Eng.admit Ind are in midst of horrible performances outside sc.but it happens with every team which passes through this phase.Ind is also going through rebuilding phase and to be frank and honest ,i dont think they will start winnining abroad once the places are taken by few youngsters.Aus too suffered back to back defeats in India 2-0 in 2008,2010.So i rather request you to please take a note of the performances of your team offlate ,its not encouraging thier is no question of respect and hatred for any team in particular,there are some phases when a team puts on strong performances,and there are some when teams struggle.its a natural phenomenon,rise and decline are inevitable

Posted by zaman2012 on (July 28, 2012, 12:17 GMT)

India won series in England not very long time ago. They were very good against SA in SA and AUS against AUS in the last decade (before the twin debacle). I think for a brief period they deserved their no 1 ranking. they don't anymore because they lost badly the last two away series. As simple as that. By the way, England's no 1 ranking is almost completely due to strong home performances and a brilliant Ashes campaign down under. So if they lose badly in subcontinent they don't deserve to be no 1 for long either.

Posted by JG2704 on (July 28, 2012, 7:04 GMT)

@ Meety - Mate , it seems that you developing a friendship here too. Still I think he has plenty of love and respect to go round to all of us

Posted by JG2704 on (July 27, 2012, 18:52 GMT)

@Christo Jose on (July 26 2012, 09:56 AM GMT) Eng won 4-0 in ODIs (same format) in UAE so they are capable even if they infrequently deliver. Ironically since the 4-0 test win vs India our test form has gone to pot but since the 5-0 defeat to India in ODIs our ODI form has gone the other way - funny old game I guess.

Posted by Meety on (July 27, 2012, 12:48 GMT)

@Harmony111 - (CONTINUED) - India have lost respect & acclaim for their cricketing abilities after 2 whitewashes. If you had watched any of the matches, they lacked fight (except Dravid in England, & late in Oz by Kohli). The only bright spark has been Yadav (I am excited by him). India cannot address their reputation until they tour against decent opposition again - & that is about a year away. So I suggest, you chill, sit back, ENJOY being neutral in matches not involving India & keep your powders dry. IMO - India will not start winning overseas again - until one of SRT or VVS retires, & is replaced by a competant, quality batsmen. The side is stale & lacks energy in the field (I'd hat to be bowling for India atm). All your fielders need to put in 101% like Ishant Sharma & Kholi does (I mentioned Ishant as I think he tries harder in the field than any other pace bowler in the world - not the best but wholehearted).

Posted by Meety on (July 27, 2012, 12:42 GMT)

@Harmony111 - I understand that it is frustrating being a fan of Indian cricket. When India first got the #1 ranking, I really felt it was by default. I thought that first real challenge would be the Saffas in Sth Africa & given the previous series was a draw in India, the return series would be a massacre in the Saffas favour. I was gobsmacked that India drew the series. Whilst I do believe tehy were in a reasonably good position to win the final test - they still had a bit of work to do, but is fair to say they were slightly in front although meaningless in a result context, really changed my view of team India. I was very confident that given they won the last series in England, they would either draw or win the series in England, (even after losing the first test, I thought they'd find a way). However, after losing 8 straight away tests, all you have left is dredging up old & stale figures from the past. India have lost respect/acclaim.

Posted by raj_24 on (July 27, 2012, 9:04 GMT)

@ Harmony111

was there any time that India win series in AUS or SA?

truly the best team in world cricket should win everywhere in the world.

Only WI in 1980-1995 and AUS from 1995 to 2009 did that.

Now it is only about rankings

Posted by Harmony111 on (July 27, 2012, 8:33 GMT)

@gerrardl: When was the last time Eng defeated India in India ? 1984. And you tell me Eng are a big team and deserve #1 rank while India did not?

Non sense logic.

Posted by yorkshirematt on (July 26, 2012, 20:15 GMT)

Don't know how he did before joining us for the T20 but I'm surprised, but relieved as he won't miss finals day, not to see David Miller in the squad.

Posted by Patrick_ on (July 26, 2012, 19:24 GMT)

@gerrardl Ya England real test team, getting whitewashed in subcontinent ! Lol.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Tour Results
England v South Africa at Birmingham - Sep 12, 2012
England won by 28 runs
England v South Africa at Manchester - Sep 10, 2012
No result
England v South Africa at Chester-le-Street - Sep 8, 2012
South Africa won by 7 wickets (with 6 balls remaining)
England v South Africa at Nottingham - Sep 5, 2012
South Africa won by 7 wickets (with 93 balls remaining)
England v South Africa at Lord's - Sep 2, 2012
England won by 6 wickets (with 20 balls remaining)
More results »
Video / Audio
News and Analysis: England prepare to face South Africa without Pietersen
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days