England news July 7, 2013

England name squad for innovative Ashes series

ESPNcricinfo staff

England have named an initial 18-strong squad for the innovative women's Ashes Series which will be settled by points accumulated in all three formats of the game.

Natasha Farrant, Natalie Sciver and Lauren Winfield, who made their international debuts against Pakistan last week, are all included.

Katherine Brunt, Holly Colvin and Laura Marsh all make a return to the initial squad after missing out on the recent NatWest Women's International matches due to continuing rehabilitation from injuries.

The final squad for each format of the Women's Ashes Series will be reduced to 15 players in early August ahead of a series which commences with the Test match at Wormsley Cricket Ground on August 11.

The 2013 Women's Ashes Series will comprise one Test match, three NatWest Women's One-Day Internationals and three NatWest Women's T20is.

Points will be allocated to each format: the winners of the Test will be awarded six points and there will be two points for the winners of each limited-overs match.

Clare Connor, the head of England women's cricket, said: "It is pleasing to see such healthy competition for places ahead of the women's Ashes series. Exciting young players from the England Women's Academy have stepped up in to the England squad in the recent internationals against Pakistan and have made an outstanding contribution on and off the pitch. One highlight being Natalie Sciver's 3-28 in just her second ODI.

Two of the three T20 matches will serve as a warm-up for the men's game to follow - in Southampton on August 29 and Chester-le-Street two days later.

England women's Ashes squad: Charlotte Edwards (Kent, capt), Tammy Beaumont (Kent), Arran Brindle (Sussex), Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire), Holly Colvin (Sussex), Georgia Elwiss (Sussex), Natasha Farrant (Kent), Lydia Greenway (Kent), Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire), Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire), Amy Jones (Warwickshire), Heather Knight (Berkshire), Laura Marsh (Kent), Natalie Sciver (Surrey), Anya Shrubsole (Somerset), Sarah Taylor (Sussex), Lauren Winfield (Yorkshire), Danielle Wyatt (Nottinghamshire).