Pakistan v West Indies, Champions Trophy, Group B, The Oval June 8, 2013

Ramdin charged for claiming Misbah catch

ESPNcricinfo staff

West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin has been charged with breaching the ICC Code of Conduct for claiming a catch off Misbah-ul-Haq during the Champions Trophy match against Pakistan at The Oval. Ramdin has pleaded not guilty and will attend a hearing on Monday.

Ramdin was charged with breaching article 2.2.11 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to "conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game". The range of penalties for all first Level 2 breaches are fines of between 50-100% of a player's match fees and/or suspension for up to two ODIs.

The incident took place in the ninth over of the Pakistan innings, when Misbah bottom-edged a Kemar Roach delivery to Ramdin. The wicketkeeper initially appeared to have caught the ball but lost control of it as he fell forward, and it slipped out of his gloves on to the grass. Instead of bringing his mistake to the notice of the umpires or his team-mates, Ramdin returned the ball to the square-leg umpire and joined his team-mates in the celebratory huddle.

Square-leg umpire Nigel Llong, however, alerted the third umpire and the replay revealed the chance had been dropped. Misbah, who was on 0, was called back and went on to hit an unbeaten 96.

Misbah later said Ramdin's actions were not in the spirit of the game. "What can I say about that?" he said when asked about the catch. "I think he should have told them what happened, but I don't know what he was thinking at that time. I would not be very happy if my wicketkeeper did that.

"If we don't know anything, then it's fine, but if you know clearly that it's not a catch, you should not claim that because it's not in the spirit of the game."

West Indies captain Dwayne Bravo, however, defended Ramdin, saying the wicketkeeper did not act deliberately. "Unfortunately, he did not catch it," Bravo said. "He's a very honest player, and as I said, history shows if you check the records that we don't have any stigma or negatives around us as a team. We have been true in our cricket careers and history has shown that we play the game in true spirit of the way it should be played. I don't think we did something like this deliberately."

In June 2012, Ramdin was fined 20% of his match fee for a protest directed at Viv Richards during the third Test against England at Edgbaston. Ramdin was charged with conduct contrary to the spirit of the game and pleaded guilty to the offence.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Jon on June 12, 2013, 14:34 GMT

    Two things here: 1. Does anyopne know how long you need to hold on to a ball before it is deemed a catch? 2. The so "called spirit of the game". Is there clear guidelines or is it open to interpretation? For example what consitutes to not being in "the spirit of the Game"? Sledging, Balll tampering, kicking the ball at other players, Falling to walk knowing full well you edged the ball.

  • Nagraj on June 10, 2013, 9:39 GMT

    Felt Ramdin lost control of the ball when starting to appeal. He indeed caught the ball and had it when falling down. Just a moment before getting up he lost the same. It is my observation during the live match.

    And one need to remember the mindset of players during that moment. Pak was reeling at 17/3 and the ball before this incident, Misbah plumb in front, LBW not given. On review, it was clearly showing ball is going to clip the bails completely in the middle stump. But the rule says majority of the ball needs to be below the bails, hence not given ( not sure who designed these rules and that too the decision changes if the on field umpire had given it out ). It is very tough for anyone to give their doubtful chance in favor of other.

  • Shyam on June 10, 2013, 8:04 GMT

    1) If Ramdin is punishable then all those batsman standing ground after edging should be punishable. Its not fair that batsman after edging the ball to keeper / slips and standing ground and telling later as its the umpires responsibility to make the calls. 2) If not Ramdin, I am not sure the umpires or the ICC would have charged against the wicket keeper, if it is Gilchrist / AB Devillers / McCullum / Dhoni / Sangakara.

  • Dummy4 on June 10, 2013, 3:57 GMT

    well well cricket is cricket what ramdin did was wrong, but if you see the video again we will find that he never appealed and his face expressions were not supporting his standings on that time but teams excitement didn't let ramdin speaks true , anyway thanks to the umpire & Pakistan survived and gain some respect, otherwise it would have been 60 for all ):

  • Peter on June 10, 2013, 3:27 GMT

    @Osman Khan Always played in the spirit have they? I guess Carl Hooper running out Dean Jones after he walked when bowled off a no ball was certainly within the spirit of the game wasn't it? Selective memory is a great thing to have, isn't it? With so many cameras, what was Ramdin thinking? Or was he

  • michael on June 10, 2013, 2:47 GMT

    When is a catch completed? When Ramdin hit the ground, the gloves remained together for a short while with the ball in it. It is clearly seen in the side picture. If he stayed still or raised the gloves there would be no incident. The gloves separated as he began movement to get up. One could argue that he had control, the catch was taken and the ball dead when he was getting up with the umpire giving the out verdict.

  • Dummy4 on June 9, 2013, 22:53 GMT

    Acording to certain bloggers " a batsman not walking is in the spirit of the game" " oh what a tangle web we weave when first we practice to deceive" a batsman not walking is 100 times worse than what was allegedly done by ramdin especially if he is given not out, let's not forget misbah was not given out. numerous, unnecessary appeals by pakistani and other players is probably worse than what ramdin is supposed to have done. cricketers have claimed catches before and nothing was done. why is ramdin being persecuted?

  • Scott on June 9, 2013, 21:42 GMT

    @Osman Khan, I love West Indies cricket but to refute the claim that they have always played in the spirit of the game I only need to point to Colin Croft deliberately barging umpire Fred Goodall in his run-up to the wicket. All cricketing nations have had their moments of being less than glorious when it comes to the spirit of the game. This incident reminds me of Australian wicket-keeper Greg Dyer claiming a catch in 1988 from Andrew Jones - he dived full to his left, grabbing with his left, rolled with his back to the wicket and came-up with the ball in his right hand. Replays showed that while his back was to the wicket the ball had been dropped, bounced three times before he scooped it off the ground and came-up asking Howzat? Dyer the liar we called them. I reckon if we were to tally them all up Aussie would come up looking pretty red-faced.

  • Cyril on June 9, 2013, 19:28 GMT

    What would have happened if there was no TV to support the umpire? Would Ramdin has insisted against the view of the umpire that he caught it? Would the captain have supported him? Would there then have been an argument? Finger pointing and aggressive body language?

    This is why this incident is so different to a batsmen not walking. The umpire made a decision, it was not accepted by Ramdin or the captain (who had no reason to believe the catch had been dropped). Therefore Ramdin acted against the spirit of the game by continuing with the appeal after Llong has said it was not out. The umpire's authority was challenged here.

  • Dummy4 on June 9, 2013, 17:53 GMT

    I have been following cricket for a very very long time. Windies have always played the game in the best spirits, we cannot say the same for some other teams. clearly this was an impromptu and emotional decision that Ramdin made. I doubt that Ramdin intended to cheat. With the naked eye at first it appears that the catch was cleanly taken but with the TV replays it is evident that the catch was not clean. This is unfortunate for the Windies as one error can blot your otherwise clean copy book. Hope the lessons have been learned. We should simply move on. It unfortunate that Bravo did not reserve his comments.

  • No featured comments at the moment.