Champions Trophy news August 25, 2009

Sri Lanka leave out Bandara and Fernando

Cricinfo staff

Sri Lanka have named a largely expected 15-man squad for next month's Champions Trophy. Among the changes are the dropping of legspinner Malinga Bandara and seamers Dilhara Fernando and Isuru Udana from the side that played Pakistan earlier this month. There was no place either for Chaminda Vaas, who retired from Tests but wants to play one-dayers till the 2011 World Cup.

Sri Lanka's fast-bowling department will be led by the in-form pair of Nuwan Kulasekara and Thilan Thushara, and supported by the pace of Lasith Malinga, who was erratic during the recent one-dayers against Pakistan,and Dammika Prasad.

Sri Lanka's concern remains the fragility of their lower middle-order, which caved in with little resistance in the final two games against Pakistan. The selectors have, however, kept their faith in the trio of Chamara Kapugedera, Thilan Samaraweera and Thilina Kandamby.

Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara (capt), Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedera, Angelo Mathews, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Thilan Thushara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dammika Prasad, Lasith Malinga, Thilina Kandamby