Confusion over Lara's ICL status
Brian Lara's involvement with the ICL has been put in doubt after league officials said he was injured and "unlikely to play" for them, and the player said was "out of the ICL". Lara, who was in Mumbai, has left for Australia with the ICL second season now under way in Hyderabad.
"The fact that I'm going tomorrow to Australia means I won't be here for the ICL" Lara was quoted as saying in the Hindustan Times. "It means I am out of the ICL."
Himanshu Mody, the ICL's operational head, said Lara may never return to competitive cricket. He fractured his left arm during a Carib Beer Cup match in January and was ruled out of the second edition of the ICL earlier this year.
"Lara now has a permanent problem on his left shoulder and will never be able to play the game actively and, therefore, is unlikely to play for the ICL in future as well," Mody told Cricketnext.
Lara was the most high-profile signing when the league was launched at the end of 2007 and was named captain of the Mumbai Champs. However, he had a forgettable stint, managing 31 runs at an average of 6.20 as his side finished at the bottom of the table. He retired from international cricket after the 2007 World Cup in the West Indies.