March 4, 2002

Dinesh Mongia to lead India A

Staff Reporter

The Indian selectors announced the India 'A' squad that will leave shortly on a 32-day tour of South Africa.

The squad will be led by Dinesh Mongia, who has also been selected for the one-day series against Zimbabwe. Abhijit Kale, who impressed in Zimbabwe's tour opener, and the talented Mohammad Kaif also get a look-in.

Baroda medium-pacer Rakesh Patel, Orissa medium-pacer Debasis Mohanty, and all-rounder Rohan Gavaskar, son of Sunil Gavaskar, who did well in the current Ranji season, are the other notable inclusions in the touring party.

The India 'A' squad:

Dinesh Mongia(captain), Abhijit Kale, Y Venugopal Rao, Mohammad Kaif, Parthiv Patel (wicket-keeper), Jacob Martin, Gautam Gambhir, Amit Pagnis, Rohan Gavaskar, L Balaji, Rakesh Patel, Amit Bhandari, Amit Mishra, Murali Kartik, Debasis Mohanty.