Ranji Trophy 2003-04 December 19, 2003

Tamil Nadu and Baroda follow on

Elite Championship Sixth Round

Tamil Nadu 240 (Sriram 58, Viswanathan 50, Vishnuvardhan 5-79) and 37 for 1 trail Hyderabad 447 by 170 runs
Tamil Nadu folded for 240, largely due to Sankinani Vishnuvardhan's five-for, and were forced to follow on at Hyderabad. Despite half-centuries from Sridharan Sriram and Sunil Vishwanathan, Hyderabad's 447 was always a daunting target. Vishnuvardhan, the left-arm medium-pacer, followed up his breezy 59 yesterday with an effective bowling performance, while Faiz Ahmed and Jogram Yadav chipped in with two wickets each. Tamil Nadu lost the wicket of Dinesh Kartik when they batted again, and need to summon their entire batting prowess to prevent an outright defeat tomorrow.

Baroda 249 (Mongia 85) and 69 for 4 trail Uttar Pradesh473 by 155 runs
Baroda were forced to follow on after a modest batting performance at the IPCL Stadium in Vadodara. After chasing leather for almost two days, Baroda began disastrously, and were reduced to 74 for 6, but Nayan Mongia, first with Tushar Arothe (34) and then with Shekhar Joshi (33), nudged them towards the follow-on mark. In the end they fell short by 24 runs as Ashish Zaidi and Rajneesh Mishra, the medium-pacers, grabed seven wickets between them. There was no change in the script the second time around, and Baroda found themselves in a deep hole as stumps were drawn, although Mongia was still there in the middle.

Mumbai 388 and 82 for 3 lead Railways 198 by 272 runs
The last seven Railways batsmen could muster only 97 runs, as Mumbai gained a huge lead on the third day at the Wankhede Stadium. Ramesh Powar followed up his heroics with the bat with a four-wicket haul, and was supported by Swapnil Hazare and Usman Maulvi - who snapped up two apiece. Mumbai lost quick wickets in the second innings - all to Jai Prakash Yadav (3 for 13) - and were reduced to 28 for 3. But Vinod Kambli and Amol Muzumdar steadied the ship with a 54-run stand and remained undefeated at stumps.

Delhi 108 for 0 (Gambhir 61) trail Kerala 371 (Kudva 123, Oasis 63*) by 263 runs
Ajay Kudva and Sunil Oasis propped up the Kerala innings at the Harbax Singh Stadium in Delhi. Kudva completed a patient century which included 13 fours. But Sarandeep Singh and Rahul Sanghvi ensured that the tail did not wag, before the Delhi openers made a strong statement before stumps. Gautam Gambhir and Rajat Bhatia got them off to a rollicking start, adding 108 runs in only 20 overs. Gambhir smashed nine fours in his 57-ball 61, while Bhatia summoned the strength to clear the ropes once.

Gujarat 210 and 152 for 5 (Modi 53, Joshi 5-51) lead Karnataka 353 (Rowland 150) by 9 runs
Sunil Joshi's fine bowling performance gave Karnataka the distinct advantage on the third day at Ahmedabad. Joshi snapped up all the five wickets to fall, after Nilesh Modi and Akash Christian had set up a solid platform. Modi remained unbeaten on 53, complied in 216 balls. Earlier, Barrington Rowland added 28 runs to his overnight score to finish with a round 150. He received valuable support from Joshi and Venkatash Prasad towards the end. Siddharth Trivedi's medium-pace brought him four wickets, while Salil Yadav, the legspinner, snapped up three this morning.

This match finished yesterday

Punjab 209 (Sahabuddin 5- 52) beat Andhra30 and 84 (Gagandeep 5-32, Sharma 4-32) by and innings and 95 runs
After being run over for 30 yesterday, Andhra were demolished again as Punjab wrapped up the match (with a bonus point) at Mohali with two days to spare. Punjab's batting was characterised by some quick cameos by Yuvraj Singh (38), Dinesh Mongia (38) and Pankaj Dharmani (39), which gave them a mammoth lead of 179. That proved to be more than enough, as Andhra crumbled to only 84 with none of the batsmen passing 25. The bowling heroes were again Gagandeep Singh and Vineet Sharma taking nine wickets between them.

Plate Championship Fourth Round

Tripura 255 for 8 (Chanda 73*) trail Madhya Pradesh 454 by 199 runs
Yogesh Golwalkar, the legspinner, finished with 4 for 73, and enabled MP to move towards the first-innings lead at Indore. Timir Chanda stood tall with a 137-ball unbeaten half-century, but the rest of the Tripura batsmen frittered away their starts. T Roy, Sadagoppan Mahesh and Chetan Sachdev managed to pass 30, but failed to kick on to something bigger. Chanda stroked 11 fours in his 154-minute knock and needs all the support from numbers 10 and 11 to eke out as much as possible tomorrow.

Vidarbha 379 beat Jammu & Kashmir 111 and 163 (Mahajan 51, Gandhe 5-49) by and innings and 112 runs
Dhruv Mahajan made a sedate 51, but that only delayed the inevitable as Vidarbha wrapped up the match at Nagpur with a day to spare. The J&K batsmen fell to the wiles of Pritham Gandhe, the offspinner, who bagged five wickets. J&K had folded for 111 yesterday and none of their batsmen could match the exploits of Vidarbha's Faiz Fazal, who hammered 151 on the first day. And that was after Vidarbha lost the toss...

Himachal Pradesh 111 and 230 for 8 (Mannu 58*, Sandeep Sharma 53) lead Goa 312 (D'Sousa 74, Jakati 66) by 29 runs
Amit Dani, who had rocked HP on the first day, picked up four wickets in their second innings and Goa inched towards their first victory of the season at Dharamshala. Ajay Mannu and Sandeep Sharma provided some resistance, but HP finished the day just 29 runs in front, with only two more wickets remaining. Shadab Jakati, the left-arm spinner, was also in the thick of things with 3 for 41.

Services 287 for 7 (AP Singh 144, Yashpal 58, Kulkarni 6-47) trail Maharashtra 403 by 116 runs
At Pune, Amit Pal Singh slammed a fine 144 and Yashpal Singh contributed 58, but Maharashtra clawed back into the match through Charudatta Kulkarni's medium-pace. The two Singhs added 94 runs to the third wicket, before Yashpal was out to Iqbal Siddiqui. Kulkarni devoured the other six that fell, as Amit Pal lost partners at regular intervals. Amit Pal hit 22 fours from 386 balls, and fell at the fag end of the day, with Services still 116 runs adrift.

Orissa 320 for 8 (Raul 107, Mullick 60, Subrat Behera 50) lead Saurashtra 228 by 92 runs
Orissa put on a solid batting display at Cuttack, with Sanjay Raul leading the way with a steady century. Raul, the captain, stroked 14 fours in his 242-ball effort and was ably supported by Pravaranjan Mullick (60) and Subrat Behera (50). Though a result is unlikely, Orissa have done enough already to take away two points from the game.