Duleep Trophy Final 2004-05, 1st day March 9, 2005

Yadav wrecks North Zone

Cricinfo staff

Central Zone 94 for 4 (Ojha 55) trail North Zone 104 (Yadav 5-26) by 10 runs

Jai Prakash Yadav's five-wicket haul devastated North Zone, limiting them to a meager 104 on the first day of the Duleep Trophy final at the Vidarbha stadium. After Mohammad Kaif won the toss and put them into bat, North Zone lost wickets regularly with only Ritender Singh Sodhi showing resistance with 27. Yadav's 5 for 26 was well-supported by Rudra Pratap Singh and Murali Kartik, who chipped in with two wickets apiece. North got off to the worst possible start, being reduced to 34 for 5 in 26 overs. However, they fought back well to capture four vital wickets, leaving Central on 94 for 4 at stumps. The first to go was Sanjay Bangar, their opener, with no run on the board. Naman Ojha, also opening, was the highest contributor with 55. Gagandeep Singh, bowling medium-pace, claimed 2 for 36.