BCCI Annual General Meeting, 2006 September 26, 2006

Pawar and Shah retain their posts

Cricinfo staff

Sharad Pawar and Niranjan Shah have retained their posts as President and Secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). No opposing candidate was named before the deadline for filing of nominations on Tuesday evening, a day before the BCCI's Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Mumbai.

Shah announced that N Srinivasan, the treasurer, and MP Pandove, the joint secretary, have also been re-elected. This means that no elections will take place in the AGM, which will be attended by representatives of the various state associations.

"All the four have been elected unopposed," Shah told PTI. "The five vice-presidents (one each from the five zones constituting the BCCI) would be elected on the floor of the house tomorrow as per the practice."

According to the amended constitution of the BCCI, it is the turn of the West Zone to nominate a candidate to oppose Pawar for the post of president. However, since Pawar belongs to the Mumbai Cricket Association in the West Zone, it was widely predicted that he would win unopposed.

The composition of the national selection panel will also be decided in the meeting, with Dilip Vengsarkar set to take over as the chairman, and the other members - Bhupinder Singh Sr (North Zone), Ranjib Biswal (East) and Sanjay Jagdale (Central) set to retain their posts. VB Chandrasekhar, the South Zone selector, will be replaced as his term comes to an end.