Selectors include former Test players Dighe and Kuruvilla July 4, 2007

Vengsarkar retains top position on Mumbai panel

Cricinfo staff

Dilip Vengsarkar needs to do some wise choosing for both country and city © AFP
Dilip Vengsarkar, India's chief national selector, has retained the chairmanship of the senior selection committee of the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) for 2007-08.

The selection panel headed by Vengsarkar, a former Test captain, also includes Milind Rege, former captain of Mumbai's Ranji Trophy side, retired fast bowler Abey Kuruvilla and former offspinner Kiran Mokashi.

The same panel will also pick the under-22 squad, while Kuruvilla will head the under-19 panel with former India wicketkeeper Sameer Dighe, Raju Sutar and Sanjay Jaywant as its other members, according to an MCA release.

The selection panels for the other age-level teams are as follows:

Under-17: Sameer Dighe (Chairman), Manish Patel, Jayprakash Jadhav and Sanjay Patil.

Under-15 and Under-13: Sanjay Patil (Chairman), Ravi Thakkar, Guru Gupte and Sanjeev Jadhav.

Senior panel for women: Vrunda Bhagwat (Chairperson), Anjali Pendharkar, Surekha Bhandare and Trupti Chandgadkar.