India news July 2, 2011

Dhawan to lead in Emerging Players tournament

ESPNcricinfo staff

Delhi opener Shikhar Dhawan will lead India in the Emerging Players tournament to be held in Australia from August 1 to 13. Mumbai batsman Ajinkya Rahane, who has an impressive first-class average of 67.72, will be the vice-captain of the 15-member contingent.

The squad includes a number of players on the fringes of the India team, who have impressed through the domestic season and in the IPL. Manoj Tiwary, who failed to shine when given an opportunity in the West Indies one-dayers, has been included in the side. Saurabh Tiwary was picked despite a lacklustre IPL.

This year, the Emerging Players tournament will feature three-day matches as opposed to limited-over matches as in previous years. India's campaign at the tournament starts with a match against South Africa from August 1. They will then play New Zealand from August 6, and Australian Institute of Sports (AIS) from August 11.

Ashok Menaria, who led India in the 2010 Under-19 World Cup in New Zealand before fruitful Ranji and IPL seasons with Rajasthan, was also picked. S Anirudha, Manish Pandey, and Ambati Rayudu were the other IPL regulars who made the squad. Karnataka's C Gautam got the wicketkeeper's spot.

Legspinner Rahul Sharma and left-arm spinner Iqbal Abdulla, who made waves with their incisiveness in the IPL, make up the spin attack. Karnataka seamer Vinay Kumar, who toured West Indies with the senior one-day team, will lead the fast-bowling department. Umesh Yadav and Varun Aaron, both of whom have built reputations based on their ability to generate pace, and left-arm seamer S Aravind complete the pace attack.

India had won the tournament in 2009 after Virat Kohli led the team to a 17-run win over South Africa with a rollicking century. They reached the finals of both the 20-over and 50-over legs of the tournament in 2010, but lost to AIS in the 20-over final and lost out to South Africa for the 50-over title. The final of the 50-over leg was abandoned due to rain and South Africa were declared winners because they finished higher in the points table.

Squad: Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-capt), S Anirudha, Manish Pandey, Saurabh Tiwary, Manoj Tiwary, Ashok Menaria, C Gautam (wk), Ambati Rayudu, Rahul Sharma, Iqbal Abdulla, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, S Aravind, Vinay Kumar

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • cecil on July 7, 2011, 7:05 GMT

    manoj tiwary is the star and he will compete well

  • Sudeep on July 4, 2011, 14:32 GMT

    I agree with the team almost completely. Only suggestions. Mayank Agarwal could have been a better option than Anirudh Srikkanth. Deepak Chahar also should have been included

  • Dummy4 on July 4, 2011, 14:11 GMT

    what is Anirudha Shrikant doing in there???? Where is abhishek nayar or ravindra jadejea??

  • Dummy4 on July 4, 2011, 13:48 GMT

    Emerging players?!?!?! what are guys like the Tiwarys doing in the team after not being able to cement their place in the National eleven...Anirudh?! good but not good enough to make the cut, after all a free ride down under courtesy dad, but am happy for the likes of Yadav, Aaron Rahul Sharma Abdulla and Rayudu, these guys deserve to make it to the team...

  • Jeetender on July 4, 2011, 13:20 GMT

    @ Cheeka -- U are doing ur best as a selector of CSK but not as a selector of Indian team... U are preparing CSK well for next IPL matches... i am tired of ur partiality... shop promoting CSK players...u lost all the respect i had for u.. thanks.. ...

  • Karthik on July 4, 2011, 13:16 GMT

    Amit Verma of Karnataka is about the same age as Anirudha Srikkanth and has played 21 matches to Srikkanth's 23. He has an average of 47 compared to Srikkanth's 29. Srikkanth does not even deserve to be in the South Zone squad and is not even a regular opener for Tamil Nadu as M.Vijay and Mukund are already there. The squad already has three openers in Pandey,Dhawan and Rahane and hence we can use Amit Verma who is a lower middle order batsman.

  • Dummy4 on July 4, 2011, 11:47 GMT

    @Pratz-XI yes my frnd its emerging player tourney but then what the hell vinay doing there after playing more than 5-10 odi's n t20 wc for india..its nt about who is less or more capped player but its about grooming talent and irfan n robin deserves place in this team they are just 25-26 and it woul have been ideal for selecting squad for oz tour late ddec..nway i hope s tiwary,yadav,varon aaron n manaria doess well..

  • Mirza on July 3, 2011, 16:20 GMT

    Rayudu could be the find of the tournament

    ALL THE BEST RAYUDU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1......................

  • Pratyush on July 3, 2011, 15:33 GMT

    Guys!! Whoever is asking for Rohit and Robin are missing a point here. They are no longer "Emerging players". Please do not confuse this with a A tour. An A tour is different where your second best team goes. Emerging players tournament is meant for unknown faces who are to be given first international exposure to see where they stand. Rohit and Robin played in emerging players tourney way-way back.

  • Tahseen on July 3, 2011, 14:49 GMT

    Krish is going too far in promoting his son Anirudha and all the players from his team. Rohit Sharma should be there in the team and Ashok Dinda in place of Arvind

  • No featured comments at the moment.