India domestic news September 25, 2012

Sehwag named North Zone captain

ESPNcricinfo staff

Virender Sehwag has been appointed captain of North Zone for their Duleep Trophy game against West Zone that begins in Chennai on October 6.

Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh were also included in the 15-man squad. The decision was taken at a zonal selection meeting at the Delhi and District Cricket Association on Monday. Sehwag had earlier been named the captain of Delhi's Ranji Trophy squad for the 2012-13 season.

The five internationals are currently on national duty in the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka and the selection committee also announced their replacements, should India qualify for final, which is on October 7. The replacements are Ian Dev Singh, Rahul Dewan, Uday Kaul, Vipul Sharma and Gurvinder Singh.

North Zone squad: Virender Sehwag (Delhi, captain), Gautam Gambhir (Delhi), Virat Kohli (Delhi), Yuvraj Singh (Punjab), Shikhar Dhawan (Delhi), Paras Dogra (Himachal Pradesh), Rajat Bhatia (Delhi), Mayank Sidana (Punjab), Harbhajan Singh (Punjab), Nitin Saini (wicketkeeper, Haryana), Ishant Sharma (Delhi), Parwinder Awana (Delhi), Harshal Patel (Haryana), Vikas Mishra (Delhi), Rishi Dhawan (Himachal Pradesh).

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on September 26, 2012, 12:39 GMT

    hi sehawag how are you beat `100 vs aus in match

  • Jangi on September 25, 2012, 21:23 GMT

    Are the West zone and South zone teams already announched too - or are people just coming up with their dream teams ? I doubt Sachin is playing for west zone when he misses games for India - bu then, I might have missed the announcement !

  • Dummy4 on September 25, 2012, 17:08 GMT

    virat should be given rest>>after all its not possible if INDIA QUALIFIES FOR FINAL> AND AFTER THAT THERE IS CL 20- 20> SO MOST OF THE PLAYERS WILL BE PLAYING THAT \

  • vikram on September 25, 2012, 14:42 GMT

    What does BCCI thinks about the Golden Boy Virat Kohli.....Can't they give him a break....Can't they understand he got NO BREAK since odi world cup 2011 .... Sehwag/Gambhir Selections are OK bcoz both are out of form specially in longer form of cricket......Yuvraj/Bhajji/Ishant Sharma too needs match practice ......

  • Dummy4 on September 25, 2012, 14:35 GMT

    Are these guys sure that INDIA wont play in T-20 final on 7 oct.?

  • Sachin on September 25, 2012, 13:08 GMT

    West Zone squad is more Strong: Wasim Jaffer, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sachin Tendulkar, Abhishek Nayar, Ravindra Jadeja, Parthiv Patel, Iqbal Abdulla, Harmeet Singh, Ajit Agarkar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Munaf Patel, Yusuf Pathan, Samd Fallah. And Zaheer, Irfan and Rohit are playing T-20 World cup and Rayudu Ankit Chavan and Surya Yadav are with India A in New Zealand.

  • Sriram on September 25, 2012, 11:07 GMT

    CLT20 begins for DD on Oct 13 , so even if India does not qualify for finals what are the chances of Viru and Yadav playing? Also Bhajji, Gauti, Rajat will play for MI and cant see these 5 playing these games either way. In the end Shikar Dhawan will lead a depleted NZ.

  • Dummy4 on September 25, 2012, 10:35 GMT

    South Zone always Great, Specially vijay and Badri

  • Dummy4 on September 25, 2012, 8:58 GMT

    Duleep Trophy match should have been slated on 8thor 9th Oct, so all 5 could have surely played..

  • Dummy4 on September 25, 2012, 8:39 GMT

    I think DDCA is right, India is not going to play final this time. They are experimenting a lot.

  • No featured comments at the moment.