December 11, 2001

Bengal snatch a tight victory

Staff Reporter

Bengal registered a close 17-run victory over Bihar in their Ranji Trophy one-day match at Barabati Stadium, Cuttack, on Tuesday.

Winning the toss, Bengal skipper Rohan Gavaskar elected to bat first. It looked like his batsmen were out to prove him wrong when the first two wickets fell with just 17 runs on the board. Arindam Das and Gavaskar then put on a mini-partnership of 72 runs before the latter was dismissed for 28.

Das also departed soon, for 42 made off 72 balls. Only knocks in the thirties from Soumen Singh, Sanjib Sanyal and Lakshmi Rattan Shukla saw Bengal cross the 200-run mark.

Bihar could only respond with 209 from their 50 overs, as all the Bengal bowlers, in particular Utpal Chatterjee, bowled with restraint and guile. T Rehman was Bihar's highest scorer, making 52 off 95 balls. Anirban Das was named Man of the Match for his batting performance.