World Cup 2007 August 25, 2006

Ireland name World Cup squad

Cricinfo staff

Ireland have named a 15-man squad for the World Cup next march and the World League competition in Kenya which precedes it.

Although the squad for the World Cup doesn't have to be named until February, the selectors felt it would assist the chosen players in arranging their work and training schedules. "The extra time would help them prepare to make the necessary arrangements that the cricketing commitments entail," a spokesman explained.

In addition, five mainline reserves have been named, and they include the former captain, Jason Molins.

Ireland squad DT Johnston (Clontarf, capt), A Botha (North County), J Bray (Eglinton), K Carroll (Railway Union), P Gillespie (Strabane), K Mc Callan - Vice Captain (Waringstown), J Mooney (North County), P Mooney (North County), E Morgan (Middlesex), K O' Brien (Railway Union), N O' Brien (Kent), W Porterfield (Rush), B Rankin (Bready), D Langford-Smith (Phoenix), A White (Northants).