April 16, 2002

Corbin and Penn take Wellington's top awards

New Zealand representative Anna Corbin and leading men's wicket-taker Andrew Penn were named the Wellington cricketers of the year recently.

Corbin, who was voted the most outstanding player in women's domestic cricket at the New Zealand Cricket Awards, had an outstanding season and won a place in the TelstraClear White Ferns team named to tour India, but which subsequently had their tour abandoned. She made the tour to Australia for the annual Rosebowl series.

Penn headed off Stephen Fleming and Paul Hitchcock for the men's award after a 40-wicket haul in the State Championship, including 10 wickets against Canterbury. He also scored 226 runs with a best score of 66.

Amber Little was named the most promising secondary schools' women's cricketer ahead of Emily Hobbs and Katrina Arnold.

Amanda Green was the most outstanding women's under-20 player, with Hobbs and Arnold finalists again.

Luke Woodcock, who made his first-class debut this season after a year at the New Zealand Cricket Academy, won the Eddie Cameron Memorial Cup for being the most outstanding cricketer under 20 years. He was the Wellington A team's leading scorer and when promoted to first-class level, he celebrated with a wicket with his first ball. Other finalists were Stephen Murdoch and Simon Allen.

Among the annual Norwood Awards, the Tawa Club won the Norwood championship for the club with the highest average number of points per team.

Frances King was named the women's outstanding batsman, with Megan Wakefield and Arnold the other finalists. While in the bowling section Corbin took the best bowler prize from Green and King.

Grant Donaldson took the men's outstanding batsman from Fleming and Leighton Morgan. Hitchcock took the bowling prize, with his five for 10 in the State Shield match against Central Districts top of his list of achievements. Other finalists were Ashley Turner and Penn.

Matthew Walker won the award for best all-round performance from Woodcock and James Franklin.

The outstanding fieldsman went to Mayu Pasupati, ahead of Jeetan Patel and Matthew Bell.

However, Bell picked up the award for best and most enterprising captain from Ben Jansen and Pasupati.

Among other awards presented, Eastern Suburbs won the Club Championship Royal Visit Cup. The best and fairest award went to North City while North City won the Under-23 Colts competition.

The Majorie Sweetman Memorial Trophy went to Nadine Dawson for the player with most wickets, 31, in the senior women's competition. Maia Lewis won the Judith Sadler Memorial Trophy for most runs, 349, in senior women's cricket.

Stephen Hotter won the Ron Murray Cup for the player with most wickets in the inter-city senior men's competition. He took 50. Donaldson, with 504 runs, won the Arthur Dick Cup for the player with most runs in the men's competition.

Groundsman of the year was Andrew Searle of Maidstone Park while the Bartercard Club men's and women's players of the year were Graham Murray and Jane Hunter-Siu respectively.

The Hutt Valley Cricket Awards were also made at the function. The J Atkin Salver for the best bowling performance by a Hutt Valley player in any match went to Penn for his efforts against Canterbury when taking eight for 21. Turner was the other finalist.

The batting award went to Upper Hutt 2A grade player Doug Warren who scored 200 not out against the Tokelau Sports Club, moving from 87 overnight to 200 in just 21 overs. Richard Jones and Bell were the other finalists.

The Sam Platt Cup for the most outstanding match by a Hutt Valley player was shared by Jones and Bell for their 229-run stand for Wellington against Otago with both batsmen achieving centuries.

The Hutt Valley cricketer of the Year award went to Robbie Bird.

The A J Rohrs Memorial Trophy awarded to the most promising player under 20 years went to Scott Rennie while the Sir Walter Nash Trophy for the most promising under-26 player went to Turner.