Patron's Trophy wrap-up after Round-2

Abdul Shakeel

October 2, 2001

Text size: A | A

After Round 2, Khan Research Labs (KRL) is at the top of the point's table after winning both their matches in Patron's Trophy Grade-I First Class Tournament.

Shoaib Akhtar
Shoaib Akhtar
Photo © CricInfo
In the 1st round match played at the KRL Ground Rawalpindi, KRL beat Sui Gas Corporation (SGCP) by 9 wickets. KRL won the toss and elected to bowl first. SGCP scored 201 runs in their 1st innings, the main performers were Sohail Idrees and Saleem Mughal with 40 runs each. For KRL Shoaib Akhtar took 4 wickets. KRL scored 410 runs in their 1st inning to take a big 209 run lead. Skipper Ali Naqvi hit 68 runs. SGCP's Abdul Rauf took 4 and Wasim Khan grabbed 3 wickets. SGCP scored 253 runs in their 2nd inning with the help of Mohammad Hafeez's 112. Shoaib Akhtar (3) and Jaffar Nazir (4) were the key bowlers for KRL. Batting last KRL easily reached the target of 45 runs losing only one wicket.

In their 2nd round match, KRL overcame WAPDA by an innings and 21 runs. WAPDA

Danish Kaneria
Danish Kaneria
Photo © CricInfo
won the toss and elected to field first. KRL scored 423 runs in their 1st innings with Mohammad Wasim top scorer with 79 while Faisal Irfan (4) was WAPDA's most successful bowler. Then the KRL bowlers restricted WAPDA to 199 and forced a follow-on. Yasir Arafat and Ali Naqvi took 3 wickets each. In their 2nd innings WAPDA was bowled out for 203 runs. Yasir Arafat was the main destroyer and took 5 wickets.

While HBL and PIA are at the 2nd position in the table with 15 points each. All three teams won their 1st round matches.

Custom - WAPDA
Customs met WAPDA on their 1st match and won by an innings and 111 runs. Customs won the toss and elected to bat first scoring 577 with the loss of 9 wickets, both the openers Shadab Kabir and Kashif Siddiq scored centuries. In reply WAPDA managed only 221 runs and had to follow-on despite Tariq Aziz's 103. Tabish Nawab took 5 wickets. WAPDA came short in their 2nd innings scoring only 245. Salman Fazal and Tabish Nawab took 5 and 4 wickets each.

Waqar Younis
Waqar Younis
Photo © CricInfo
In their 1st match HBL defeated PWD by 227 runs. PWD won the toss and decided to bowl and restricted HBL to 273. Atiq-uz-Zaman was HBL's top scorer with 80, while PWD's Rajesh Ramesh took 4 wickets. PWD only managed 144 in reply and Danish Kaneria and Kabir Khan took 3 wickets each. HBL scored 235 runs in the 2nd innings and set PWD a target of 365, but PWD were bowled out for 137.

NBP won their 1st match against ADBP by 10 wickets. ADBP won the toss and invited NBP to bat. NBP scored 405 runs in their 1st innings with the help of Sajid Ali and Naumanullah centuries. ADBP was bowled out at the score of 150 in their 1st innings and made to follow-on. Mushtaq Ahmed and Waqar Younis took 4 and 3 wickets. In their 2nd innings ADBP reached 291 to set a 37 run target, easily achieved by NBP without any loss.

Star-studded PIA beat ABL by 5 wickets in their 1st match. PIA won the toss and

Wasim Akram
Wasim Akram
Photo © AFP
decided to bowl and did bowl out ABL for 186. ABL's main scorer was Naved Latif (80). PIA's Abdur Razzaq took 4 and Azhar Mahmood took 3 wickets apiece. PIA mustered only 224 runs in their 1st innings due to Aqib Javed and Aamer Nazir who took 3 wickets each. ABL scored 214 runs in their 2nd innings and gave PIA a target of 177 runs. Usman Tariq (94) was the top scorer. Azhar Mahmood grabbed 7 ABL wickets. PIA achieved the target but lost 5 wickets. Yousuf Youhana was PIA's top scorer in the 2nd innings.

ABL and PWD are lying at the 3rd position after winning their 2nd round matches.

Abdur Razzaq
Abdur Razzaq
Photo © CricInfo
ABL beat ADBP by 9 wickets. ABL won the toss and decided to bowl. ADBP scored 166 runs in their 1st innings while Naved-ul-Hasan and Aamer Nazir took 4 and 3 wickets each. ABL scored 231 runs with the help of a century by Ijaz Ahmed jr. ADBP was bowled out the score of 163 in their 2nd innings and could only set a 99 run target. ABL only lost one wicket and Naved Latif scored a fine half-century.

PWD overcame SGCP by 6 wickets. PWD won the toss and decided to field first. SGCP scored 316 runs in their 1st innings. Sohail Idrees was top scorer with 60. PWD were all out for 388 runs in their 1st innings, Afsar Nawaz scored 156 runs while Mohammad Hussain took 5 wickets. In the 2nd innings SGCP managed only 135 runs and Tanvir Ahmed took 5 wickets. Now, PWD had to score only 64 runs, duly achieved with the loss of 4 wickets.

ADBP, SGCP and WAPDA with 0 points are at the bottom of the table having lost both round matches.

KRL, currently the top team, has yet to play the stronger sides as there is an obvious disparity between the various teams due to the appearance of Pakistan test stars in some of the teams. However, the experience to be gained by the weaker teams will be of great benefit. The cancellation of international tours to Pakistan has allowed the test stars to take active part in Pakistan's domestic FC tournaments.

RSS Feeds: Abdul Shakeel

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Abdul ShakeelClose
Related Links
Country Fixtures Country Results
Final: National Bnk v Sui Gas at Karachi
Dec 22-26, 2014 (10:00 local | 05:00 GMT | 00:00 EST | 23:00 CST | 21:00 PST)
1st ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 9, 2015 ()
2nd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 11, 2015 ()
3rd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 13, 2015 ()
1st T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 15, 2015 ()
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days