Ranji Trophy 2012-13, Group B, Round 5, 3rd day December 3, 2012

Bhuvneshwar five-for gives UP big win

ESPNcricinfo staff

Uttar Pradesh 361 (Alam 106, Kaif 83, Gagandeep 4-86) and 8 for 0 beat Baroda 254 (Rayudu 85, Devdhar 65, Rajpoot 4-62) and 114 (Bhuvneshwar 5-42) by ten wickets

Allrounder Bhuvneshwar Kumar needed just 11.4 overs to take his eighth first-class five-wicket haul as Baroda crumbled either side of lunch on day three in Kanpur. After UP had stretched their first innings to 361 from their overnight total of 310 for 6, Bhuvneshwar ran through the Baroda top order, claiming the first three wickets. Imtiaz Ahmed then removed Ambati Rayudu and Kedar Devdhar, the two batsmen who had resisted in the first innings, in the space of three deliveries. There was swing, seam, bounce, both high and low, on the grassy Kanpur pitch, and Baroda had no answers. A run-out later, Baroda were 44 for 6, still needing 63 more to avoid an innings defeat. Abhimanyu Chauhan and Gagandeep Singh ensured UP would bat again, but the hosts needed just eight to win as Baroda were bowled out for 114 in 32.4 overs. The win was achieved with all ten wickets remaining, giving UP the bonus point and taking them top of Group B with 17 points from four games.

Haryana 307 and 167 for 6 (Mishra 50*) lead Delhi 224 (Chand 83, Manhas 53) by 250 runs

Haryana were boosted to an overall lead of 250 by a timely half-century from their captain Amit Mishra in Lahli, Rohtak. Three strikes from left-arm spinner Vikas Mishra and two from medium-pacer Sumit Narwal had reduced Haryana to 109 for 6 before Mishra's contribution. Mithun Manhas' fifty had earlier helped Delhi post 224 from their overnight 165 for 6. Medium-pacers Mohit Sharma and Harshal Patel took three wickets each while Mishra got two.

Maharashtra 315 and 73 for 1 trail Odisha 441 (Samantray 107, Niranjan 103) trail by 53 runs

Centuries from Niranjan Behera and Biplab Samantray gave Odisha a first-innings lead of 126 over Maharashtra in Sambalpur. Deepak Behera chipped in with 49 and despite the lower order crumbling to Samad Fallah, Odisha were able to post 441. They got 26 overs to bowl at Maharashtra in the second innings, but the visitors lost just one wicket, that of Virag Awate to medium-pacer Basant Mohanty. Harshad Khadiwale took them to 73 for 1 at stumps.

Vidarbha 214 for 2 (Fazal 110*, Das 62) trail Tamil Nadu 443 for 8 dec by 229 runs

Faiz Fazal's century led Vidarbha's strong reply to Tamil Nadu's 443 in Nagpur. Tamil Nadu declared on their overnight score, after which Fazal and Shiv Sunder Das put on 151. The first wicket came through a run-out, Das falling for 62. Urvesh Patel did not last long, but Fazal and Shalabh Shrivastava saw out the day without further damage. Vidarbha are still adrift by 229 runs, and will need to bat the better part of the day if they are to take three points from the match.