Ranji Trophy 2012-13 October 11, 2012

Agarkar to lead Mumbai in Ranji Trophy

ESPNcricinfo staff

Ajit Agarkar, the fast bowler, has been appointed captain of Mumbai for their first four matches of the 2012-13 Ranji Trophy. In February this year, he was, for the first time in his 16-year career, officially named Mumbai captain, for the limited-overs Vijay Hazare Trophy. Agarkar takes over the first-class side from Wasim Jaffer, who stepped down in February.

Agarkar's appointment as captain earlier in the year marked a turnaround in his relations between the Mumbai Cricket Association. In November 2011, Agarkar had left the team in Cuttack as he was disappointed at not being picked in the XI for a Ranji Trophy match against Orissa. He consequently withdrew from the squad for the entire Ranji season but reconciled his differences with the board in a meeting with Milind Rege, then Mumbai's chairman of selectors, Ratnakar Shetty, the then MCA vice-president, and Nitin Dalal, the MCA secretary, in February 2012.