Ranji Trophy 2013-14, Group B, 3rd round, 2nd day November 15, 2013

Saurashtra march on Vasavada's double ton

ESPNcricinfo staff

Saurashtra 570 for 7 (Vasavada 205, Jackson 140, Jogiyani 74) v Uttar Pradesh

Aarpit Vasavada scored his maiden first-class double-hundred and his team-mates piled on more agony on the Uttar Pradesh bowlers by stacking 570 for 7 by the end of second day in Rajkot.

Sheldon Jackson and Vasavada resumed at the score of 235 for 4 and took them past 300 by adding another 69 to their stand. Jackson was picked by Imtiaz Ahmed for 140, his highest first-class score, but that didn't give UP any respite. Vasavada and Chirag Jani put together 105 runs for the sixth wicket before Piyush Chawla dismissed Jani for 35. Vasavada didn't halt and stitched another strong stand, of 157 with No. 8 Kamlesh Makvana. Vasavada fell soon after bringing up his double-hundred, by Praveen Gupta for 205.

Makvana was unbeaten on 63 with Dharmendrasinh Jadeja at the end of the day. Three UP bowlers - Chawla, Gupta and RP Singh conceded more than 100 runs each and Chawla was the only one to take more than two wickets.

Bengal 117 for 1 (Arindam 70*) trail Madhya Pradesh 431 (Ojha 115, Birla 68, Majumdar 3-42) by 314 runs

Madhya Pradesh failed to capitalise on Naman Ojha's hundred and two middle-order fifties as they lost their last six wickets for 84 runs to reach a strong 431. In reply, Bengal lost one wicket for 117 runs with the help of an unbeaten 70 from opener Arindam Das.

Ojha and Udit Birla started the day at 293 for 4 on 101 and 14 respectively. Ojha added only 14 more to his overnight score before being caught of Shib Paul to end the 73-run stand. The wicket started the collapse as Paul took his third wicket four overs later by bowling Rameez Khan for 4. Birla kept going at the other end at a brisk pace and notched his eighth first-class fifty. He was dismissed by Ashok Dinda for 68, which featured 12 fours, and Dinda struck again in his next over with the wicket of Anand Rajan for a duck.

Ankit Sharma's unbeaten 34 took them past 400 as legspinner Anustup Majumdar took the last two wickets in consecutive overs to finish with 3 for 42.

In reply, left-arm spinner Sharma trapped Bengal opener Rohan Banerjee for 29 in the 22nd over before Das and Majumdar took them till stumps.

Railways 208 for 3 (Ghosh 76*, Bhille 51) lead Baroda 176 (Mali 8-48) by 32 runs

Railways continued their dominance over Baroda by marching past their score of 176 for the loss of only three wickets and ending the day 32 runs ahead. The Railways innings saw three fifties - from Nitin Bhille, HD Rawle and Arindam Ghosh - as they finished at 208.

Amit Paunikar scored a patient 20 from 105 balls before he was bowled by Gagandeep Singh at the score of 62. Railways scored only 23 more in the next 20 overs when the stand between Bhille and Rawle was ended by Bhille's run-out which sent him back for 51. Rawle and Ghosh avoided any more stutters with a bit of acceleration for the fourth-wicket partnership of 123. While Rawle was unbeaten on 50, Ghosh was on 76, which included nine fours and a six, his highest first-class score.

Rajasthan 131 for 2 (Saraf 52, Saxena 42) trail Services 325 (Paliwal 108*, Desai 65, Pankaj 5-98) by 194 runs

Services added exactly 50 runs to their overnight score of 275 for 6 and removed Rajasthan's openers but couldn't trouble them any more in Delhi. Rajat Paliwal, unbeaten overnight on 71, brought up his sixth first-class hundred and remained unbeaten on 108 as his team scored 325.

Suraj Yadav started the day with Paliwal but couldn't add to his overnight score of 23 when he was caught behind off Pankaj Singh in the sixth over of the day. Pankaj struck on the next ball too by removing Shadab Nazar for a duck. No. 10 Nishan Singh gave Paliwal some company with a stand of 32 but Ramesh Powar first had him stumped for 13 and then bowled Koteswar Rao for a duck in his next over.

Rajasthan were given a strong start with a 96-run opening stand between Siddharth Saraf and Vineet Saxena. They scored at less than two runs per over and offspinner Koteswar Rao broke the stand by bowling Saraf for 52. Saxena also fell four runs later, for 42, when he edged to the keeper off Nazar. Robin Bist and Rajesh Bishnoi survived nearly 20 overs from them to end the day at 131 for 2, trailing by 194.