Ranji Plate League 2009-10, 1st round, 1st day November 3, 2009

Tiwary and Sunny tons light up opening day

Cricinfo staff

Group A

Jharkhand 299 for 5 (Tiwary 136, Rajiv 75) v Tripura
Captain Saurabh Tiwary continued his fine form for Jharkhand, hitting a sparkling century against Tripura at the Metallurgical and Engineering Consultant Limited Sail Stadium in Ranchi. Put in by Tripura, the hosts lost two quick wickets before Ishank Jaggi teamed up with Tiwary to put on 92 for the third wicket. Tiwary led from the front and applied himself well during his 223-ball 136, which comprised 15 fours and three sixes. Together with Rajiv Kumar, who scored 75, he added 162 for the fourth wicket before becoming Jayanta Debnath's second victim. Wicketkeeper Shiv Gautham and Shahbaz Nadeem held fort till stumps, as Jharkhand finished just below the 300-run mark.

Assam 1 for 0 trail Rajasthan 228 (Khoda 106, Konwar 4-46, Bahutule 4-66) by 227 runs
Rajasthan finally managed to field a team in a BCCI tournament, but struggled against Assam in Guwahati. Four wickets apiece for Sairaj Bahutule and Arlen Konwar helped Assam bowl them out for 228. However, a well-compiled century from Gagan Khoda ensured that the damage was not irreversible.

The 35-year-old right-hand batsman put on a lone show at the top of the order after the visitors opted to bat. He hit 106 off 196 balls, including 12 fours and two sixes, but received little support from the others: the second-highest score innings of 26 came from Kuldeep Singh. Once Abu Nechim had given Assam the first breakthrough, Bahutule and Konwar struck at regular intervals to bring an end to the innings in 88.1 overs. In reply, Dheeraj Jadhav and Parvez Aziz negotiated the one over left in the day's play.

Goa 286 for 5 (Ratra 84*, Sriram 50) v Vidarbha
Wicketkeeper Ajay Ratra anchored Goa with a fluent 84 against Vidarbha at the VCA Stadium in Nagpur. Choosing to bat, Goa lost opener Sagun Kamat early for 1. But captain Sridharan Sriram took on the responsibility, scoring a run-a-ball 50. Opener Anup Kolambkar and Reagan Pinto strengthened the visitors with a third-wicket stand of 77, before Ratra provided more solidity, smashing 12 boundaries during his 144-ball innings. Ratra had Saurabh Bandekar to keep him company till the end of the day as Goa finished on 286 for 5.

Group B

Haryana 308 for 5 (Sunny 146*, Dewan 71, Dhruv 12*, Rajan 3-55) v Madhya Pradesh
Sunny Singh's seventh first-class hundred was the highlight of the day's play between Haryana and Madhya Pradesh at the Emerald High School Ground in Indore. The Haryana captain was in fine fettle as he smashed 146 off 177 balls to lift his team to 308 for 5. Asked to bat first by MP, Haryana were given a rousing start by their openers, who put on 70. Rahul Dewan provided the backbone to the good start, hitting 11 fours in his 71. His second-wicket partnership with Sunny yielded 73, as Haryana looked to take the upper hand. Sunny then took charge and was given able support by Summet Sharma, who managed 45. Anand Rajan did manage three wickets, but MP had their work cut out going into the second day.

Andhra 215 for 5 (Rao 69, Sumanth 58*) v Kerala
Twin fifties from Venugopal Rao and captain B Sumanth helped Andhra reach 215 for 5 against Kerala at the Conor Vayal Stadium in Kannur. Sreesanth, Kerala's captain and lead bowler, spent a wicketless day, sending in 10 overs for 38 runs.

Choosing to bat, the Andhra openers, Hemal Watekar and Prasad Reddy, made a cautious start with 46 off 19 overs. But three quick wickets had them stuttering at 62 for 3, before Rao and Sumanth joined forces to strengthen the visitors. Rao struck 12 fours and a six in his 92-ball 69, while Sumanth hit seven boundaries in his watchful 58. Apart from the wicketkeeper, all the Kerala players were asked to bowl in an effort to break the partnership. VA Jagadeesh finally had Rao caught by TinuYohannan, as Andhra went on to lose wicketkeeper Manoj Sai before the end of the day's play.

Jammu & Kashmir were awarded the match against Services with the latter being expelled from the Ranji Trophy after refusing to travel to Srinagar. Read the full report.