Scotland news November 29, 2011

Scottish cricket launches Hall of Fame

ESPNcricinfo staff

Cricket Scotland began a celebration of its history by launching the Scottish Cricket Hall of Fame in Edinburgh to showcase the cricketers that have all played an integral part in the development of Scottish cricket.

Twelve players were inducted into the Hall of Fame in recognition of their pioneering spirit that has helped develop the game in Scotland. From 2012 two further inductees will be announced each year.

Among those included at the launch are Gregor MacGregor, who played eight Tests for England between 1890 and 1893, Mike Denness - England captain for 19 Tests and former ICC match referee - and former Scotland captain Gavin Hamilton.

"I'm very proud and privileged to be among the first inductees into the Scottish Cricket Hall of fame," said Hamilton. "It really makes all the hard work over the last 20 years worthwhile."

Hall of Fame
Leslie Balfour, Gregor MacGregor, John Kerr, James Aitchison, Jimmy Allan, Mike Denness, George Goddard, Brian Hardie, Iain Philip, Dougie Brown, Gavin Hamilton, Craig Wright

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Michael on November 30, 2011, 14:05 GMT

    A really good idea. But no Ian Peebles?

  • Dummy4 on November 29, 2011, 17:10 GMT

    Its a good step.This will lead to increased popularity of Cricket in the Kingdom.. Scotland bieng a part of UK is essential to be a top cricketing team... Good Luck!

  • Dummy4 on November 29, 2011, 16:21 GMT

    Where's the great man himself, Jardine!? Or does Scottish cricket prefer, even now, to consider him English ?

  • No featured comments at the moment.