South Africa news

Parnell included in South Africa A squad

Cricinfo staff

June 10, 2010

Text size: A | A

Wayne Parnell takes a closer look at the proceedings, Indian Board President's XI v South Africans, tour match, 2nd day, Nagpur, February 3, 2010
The A team games could be Wayne Parnell's comeback vehicle after a groin injury relegated him to the sidelines © AFP
Related Links
Teams: South Africa

South Africa allrounder Wayne Parnell will begin his return from injury with the South Africa A side on its tour of Sri Lanka in August. Parnell tore his groin while warming up for an IPL match in March and was forced to miss the ICC World Twenty20 and South Africa's tour of the West Indies as a result.

"It is important that Wayne gets as much game time as possible before the Proteas resume their international season against Zimbabwe, Pakistan and India," Andrew Hudson, the CSA selection convener, said. "He has been out of cricket for a long time and needs quality time in the middle."

Thami Tsolekile has been retained as captain but will return to South Africa after the first two one-day matches to prepare for the Champions' League in September. The selectors have stuck with the same group of players that beat Bangladesh A in two four-day matches earlier this year and won the triangular one-day tournament that included West Indies A.

"We were very pleased with the way the young and inexperienced squad developed on that tour with one of them, David Miller, going on to represent the Proteas," Hudson said. "Consistency and continuity is an important part of our selection policy."

Stephen Cook, who compiled a South African record score of 390 in the course of scoring over 1,000 runs during the summer first-class season, is the only newcomer in the four-day side.

Four-day squad: Thami Tsolekile (capt), Stephen Cook, Dean Elgar, Quinton Friend, Heino Kuhn, Ethy Mbhalati, Wayne Parnell, Vernon Philander, Rilee Rossouw, Rusty Theron, Thandi Tshabalala, Jonathan Vandiar, Stiaan van Zyl.

One-day squad: Thami Tsolekile (capt), Ryan Bailey, Dean Elgar, Colin Ingram, Rory Kleinveldt, Ethy Mbhalati, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Vernon Philander, Rilee Rossouw, Rusty Theron, Thandi Tshabalala, Jonathan Vandiar, Morne van Wyk, Stiaan van Zyl.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
1st T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (Colts) - Oct 23
SL Women won by 7 runs
Pool B: Easterns v Boland at Benoni - Oct 23-25
Boland 156 Easterns 27/0
Pool A: S West D v W Province at Oudtshoorn - Oct 23-25
W Province 189/3
2nd ODI: New Zealand v South Africa at Mount Maunganui
Oct 24, 2014 (10:30 local | 21:30 GMT | 17:30 EDT | 16:30 CDT | 14:30 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days