South Africa news June 26, 2012

Imran Tahir picked in A squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

South Africa have picked legspinner Imran Tahir in their A squad for the two unofficial Tests against Sri Lanka A in July. The games will give Tahir practice ahead of the senior team's tour of England this summer. Faf du Plessis was named captain of South Africa A.

Apart from Tahir and du Plessis, the other A team players with international experience are wicketkeeper Thami Tsolekile, Farhaan Behardien, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Ryan McLaren and Rory Kleinveldt.

Both games will be played in Durban, the first between June 30 and July 3 and the second from July 6 to 9.

South Africa A: Faf du Plessis, Temba Bavuma, Farhaan Behardien, Dean Elgar, Simon Harmer, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Rory Kleinveldt, Pumelela Matshikwe, Ryan McLaren, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Rilee Rossouw, Thami Tsolekile, Stiaan van Zyl.