Bangladesh in Sri Lanka, 2005 August 24, 2005

Samaraweera recalled after three years

Thilan Samaraweera: back in colour © Getty Images

Thilan Samaraweera's return to Sri Lanka's one-day squad after a three-year absence was the only notable change as Sri Lanka announced their ODI and Test squads for their forthcoming series against Bangladesh.

Samaraweera, now 28, was one of nine batsman picked in a 15-man ODI squad as the selectors rested Nuwan Zoysa due to fitness concerns and left out Lasith Malinga from the victorious India Oil Cup squad. Avishka Gunawardene was the other batsman to have been recalled; Sri Lanka now have four specialist opening batsmen. Samaraweera, who last played one-day cricket in the VB Series in Australia just prior to the 2003 World Cup, has a Test average of over 47 and has been seen as less of a one-day prospect. Zoysa's surprise omission was due to general physical fitness concerns. According to Lalith Kaluperuma, the chairman of the selectors, he was "rested".

Sri Lanka will face Bangladesh in three one-dayers, starting on August 31, before playing two Tests from September 12-16 and 20-24. Bangladesh, coached by former Sri Lanka coach Dav Whatmore, arrive on Wednesday and will warm up for the one-day series with a practice match against a Sri Lanka President's XI in Moratuwa on Sept 28.

One-day squad
Marvan Atapattu (capt), Mahela Jayawardene, Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Russel Arnold, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chaminda Vaas, Upul Chandana, Farveez Maharoof, Muttiah Muralitharan, Avishka Gunawardene, Dilhara Fernando, Dilhara Lokuhettige, Thilan Samaraweera.

Test squad
Marvan Atapattu (capt), Mahela Jayawardene, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Thilan Samaraweera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chaminda Vaas, Farveez Maharoof, Rangana Herath, Muttiah Muralitharan, Lasith Malinga, Russel Arnold, Gayan Wijekoon, Dilhara Fernando, Shantha Kalavitigoda.

Charlie Austin is Cricinfo's Sri Lankan correspondent