Sri Lanka cricket July 30, 2009

Kaushal Silva to lead Sri Lanka A

The wicketkeeper Kaushal Silva will lead Sri Lanka A in the unofficial Test and ODI series against Pakistan A in August.

Silva was a member of the Sri Lanka Test squad which won the three-Test series 2-0 against Pakistan, but was not part of the playing XI in any of the Tests.

The squad includes opener Malinda Warnapura, who played in all three Tests against Pakistan but managed just the one half-century in the series. Farveez Maharoof, Dilhara Fernando and Mahela Udawatte are some of the other players who will look to stake a claim for national team selection ahead of New Zealand's tour of Sri Lanka beginning on August 18.

Pakistan's itinerary includes two four-day unofficial Tests and five one-dayers, apart from two practice games.

Sri Lanka A squad:

Kaushal Silva (capt), Mahela Udawatte, Malinda Warnapura, Lahiru Thirimanna, Chamara Silva, Gihan Rupasinghe, Malinda Pushpakumara, Thisara Perera, Suraj Randiv, Chanaka Welagedara, Dhammika Prasad, Suranga Lakmal, Dinesh Dharmapriya, Sajeewa Weerakoon, Milinda Siriwardena, Farveez Maharoof, Dilhara Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal, Kaushal Lokuarachchi, Chaminda Vidanapathirana.