Sri Lanka news September 11, 2013

Herath, Sangakkara win top honours at SLC awards


A rich year in Tests earned Rangana Herath the top prize in Sri Lanka Cricket's annual awards, for the first time in his career. Herath got the nod ahead of last year's Best Cricketer and current ICC cricketer of the Year, Kumar Sangakkara, who took home the People's Player of the Year award for the fourth year running. Sangakkara has also won the ICC's People's Choice award for the last two years. Herath and Sangakkara won the Best Test Bowler and Best Test Batsman awards respectively.

Herath took 46 Test wickets at 22.13 during the period under consideration, and had been the top wicket-taker in the world in 2012. He also became the third Sri Lankan to 200 Tests wickets during the Bangladesh series in March. Sangakkara, meanwhile, hit 441 runs in the only two Tests he played in 2013, including three centuries in four innings.

Tillakaratne Dilshan won the award for Best ODI batsman, while Lasith Malinga was given the nod for Best ODI Bowler. Angelo Mathews was the ODI Allrounder of the Year, with Dinesh Chandimal picking up the Emerging Cricketer of the Year for the second year in a row.

Sri Lanka Women's team captain Shashikala Siriwardene bagged the top award for women in a groundbreaking year for the women's team. She was also awarded ODI Allrounder of the Year, while Deepika Rasangika was Best Women's Batsman in ODIs and Chamani Seneviratna took home the bowling prize. The Sri Lanka women's team had caused the upset of the women's World Cup in February, when they defeated England by one wicket, and went on to place fifth at the tournament.

In domestic cricket, Kaushal Silva, who top scored in the first-class tournament, was SLC's Best Premier League batsman, with top wicket-taker Malinda Pushpakumara nabbing the first-class bowling award. Dilruwan Perera was selected as Best Allrounder, while Sri Lanka players Kusal Perera and Ajantha Mendis also took home domestic cricket honours.

Andrew Fidel Fernando is ESPNcricinfo's Sri Lanka correspondent. He tweets here

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on September 13, 2013, 10:41 GMT

    First it was crazy sanath.Now it is crazy sl cricket.making sl cricket lovers also crazy. giving Chandimal the award for emerging player & Anjelo Mathews as the best allrounder> according to me it was Thirimanne & Thisara Perera

  • Android on September 12, 2013, 16:02 GMT

    Congratulations Sanga...!!!

  • Dummy4 on September 12, 2013, 12:36 GMT

    congrats sanga you are the our hero..........

  • Android on September 12, 2013, 7:00 GMT

    sanga your true champion that whole world vitnessed these many years. am huge fan of you though am from india. the manner & brand of cricket which you play truely remarkable. am sure end of your career after don bradman your test average will be highlighted. i still remember the 200 against pakistan in asian test chmpionship way back in 2001 being young cricketer with the bowling attack likes of wasim waqar shoib razzaq saqlian. it was expected by me after watch that compelete matach. the records which you got now. expecting more and more runs from your bat. blazing cover drive. i have seen some cricketer the in the end of the career they becom3 more dangerous and attacking attitude which i hve seen in sanga from past one year specially in ODI. well done sanga. chandimal if u want to get back to good form means. pls sit and watch your own batting which u did in aussie in vb series. automatically you be in form. i remember sanjay majerekar mentioned one more run machine from asia.

  • Jerome on September 12, 2013, 4:21 GMT

    How come the administrators did not win any awards? Surely, they have had some man of the match performances this year with some of their antics?

  • Cricket on September 12, 2013, 2:10 GMT

    I am an Indian who has had a keen interest in Sri Lankan cricket for a long time. I love watching them play their fearless, aggressive brand of cricket. I always felt bad when India lost a cricket match but not too bad when it lost to Sri lanka. But seeing the SL team now, Dinesh Chandimal has got the best emerging cricketer for 2 years now. This indicates a serious problem of lack of quality options. I fear for SL cricket after Sanga, Mahela, Dilshan and Herath. All of them are over 35 and have only 1-2 years left. I do not recollect SL winning a cricket match without substantial contributions from the awesome foursome. Hope they unearth some quality cricketers now.

    Much as people bash the BCCI, I feel they must be commended for infrastructure and creating good bench strength. I hope the SL cricket board takes a cue from the BCCI. SL has had a proud cricketing tradition and I would hate to see SL cricket fans deserve a strong national team.

  • shane on September 12, 2013, 0:07 GMT

    I think this is a Spelling mistake by cric info. or SLC 'Best allrounder of the year' A Mathews?... How many matches he won for Sri Lanka by using his all rounding skills in this YEAR?.. None! Well done herath finally recodnize his value to SL cricket but bit disappointing N kulasekara's contributions hasn't yet to identify. Kula or Tisara should grab all rounding performer of the year. I think biggest demotivating factor for some of the key players in this team it's not the pay packet but internal politics & under current hasn't been able to identify true value of the players.

  • Madu on September 11, 2013, 23:29 GMT

    I watched the whole award ceremony. I must say, the comedy pieces were really entertaining especially Sunil perera making fun about the SLC's governing policies and Chaminda Pusswedilla's strategy's on how to win world cup finals. I agree with most of the comments here about chandimal's award of emerging player of the year, I was also surprised. My congrats to all the other winners and of course the ever charismatic Sanga who never lets himself go unnoticed at award ceremonies. @ D-Ascendant ..if I remember correctly the MC's were addressing the ladies as ''Batswoman'' and that's pretty normal to me.

  • Dummy4 on September 11, 2013, 23:04 GMT

    I don't know why slc dicided to give emerging player award to choice is Thirimanne.He has respectively done his job for country recent past.not chandimal.he is a good young cricketer and he should improve lots of skills like thirimanne who built up innings when felt down top order.....Thirimanne is the next people choice like sanga.that's for sure...................

  • Dummy4 on September 11, 2013, 16:32 GMT

    Well done Herath! You definitely deserve to be the Cricketer of the Year! We have won many matches because of you. Specially, the key man in the first test win against SA in SA was none other than you!