Ferguson to captain raw South Australia squad

In the absence of captain Travis Head, Callum Ferguson will lead South Australia in the Matador Cup Getty Images

Callum Ferguson will captain a South Australia squad lacking experience during this year's Matador Cup. The Redbacks lost the final to New South Wales last year but this year will be without several key players - captain Travis Head, legspinner Adam Zampa, and fast bowlers Daniel Worrall and Joe Mennie - who are part of Australia's ODI squad in South Africa.

As a result, South Australia's 14-man group for the one-day campaign includes five uncapped players. Fast bowler Wes Agar, the brother of Australia spinner Ashton Agar, is a chance to make his debut for the Redbacks having signed a rookie contract with them this year, while there could also be one-day debuts for Jake Weatherald, Michael Cormack, Cameron Valente and Nick Benton.

The only players with significant one-day experience in the South Australia squad are Ferguson, Tom Cooper, Kane Richardson, Alex Ross and Tim Ludeman. The tournament will mark the return to cricket for Ferguson after he suffered a serious knee injury in December. Remarkably, he has only captained South Australia once before - in a solitary one-day game in 2007.

"The team loses significant experience due to four Australian players being absent and we will look to Callum and other senior players to lead the way on and off the ground," South Australia's general manager of high performance Tim Nielsen, said. "We couldn't be more pleased about having our players represent Australia, and it's a huge opportunity for our squad to compete hard and continue their development from last season."

South Australia squad Callum Ferguson (capt), Wes Agar, Tom Andrews, Nick Benton, Alex Carey, Tom Cooper, Michael Cormack, Alex Gregory, Jake Lehmann, Tim Ludeman, Kane Richardson, Alex Ross, Cameron Valente, Jake Weatherald.