West Indies v India, only Twenty20, Trinidad

Reactions and distractions

ESPNcricinfo presents the Plays of the Day from the one-off Twenty20 between West Indies and India at Port of Spain

Sriram Veera at Port of Spain

June 4, 2011

Comments: 28 | Text size: A | A

Lendl Simmons is about to be given out in controversial circumstances, West Indies v India, Only Twenty20, Port of Spain, June 4, 2011
This ball missed the bat, and hit the wicket-keeper's helmet. Not out on two counts. © Associated Press
Enlarge
Related Links

The reaction of the day - I

It went off the bat. It really did. Surely, Shikhar Dhawan felt the impact? It was a short ball from Darren Sammy and Dhawan made a lame attempt at an upper cut. The ball lobbed up to the wicketkeeper, the umpire nodded his head to suggest it was out; perhaps he felt it was so clearly out that he didn't have to raise the finger, but he had to since Dhawan didn't budge. And as he trudged off ever so slowly, Dhawan even had a wry grin as though he had been wrongly given out. Strange.

The reaction of the day - II

Lendl Simmons couldn't believe it when he was given out. He was cramped for room by an offbreak from R Ashwin and the ball seemed to go off the thigh and bounce off Parthiv Patel's helmet. Never mind whether there was an edge or not, since a batsman cannot be given out if the ball touches the external protective gear of a fielder. His partner Andre Fletcher even tried to argue the case, but the umpires did not agree. Perhaps they just didn't see the impact with the helmet. Simmons had to depart. Shame.

The effort of the day

It was a free-hit and S Badrinath lifted it to the left of long-off, but Ashley Nurse was in some mood. He dashed across, flung himself full-length to his left and caught the ball with both hands. It was an outstanding effort but he couldn't help but touch the ropes before he managed to throw the ball inside the boundary. Pity.

The flying turf of the day

It happened off the fifth delivery of the day. When Ravi Rampaul landed the ball on a length, a piece of the pitch flew up. It was the sign of things to come. It proved a slow turning track. If such surfaces persist through the series, things are going to be difficult for West Indies.

The distraction of the day

It came from Chris Gayle. Dressed in a white costume, he was seen in the stands sitting with Jerome Taylor. As the game progressed, he tweeted that he planned to move to the Trini Posse stands. As the game neared the end, Gayle was seen there, mixing with the crowd and posing for photographs. Christopher Barnwell then launched a massive six and the cheer-girls, standing in front of Gayle, swayed ever so joyously. Gayle smiled and waved a small white towel that he held in his hands. Later he even tweeted: "WI Fans..Don't worry about a thing,cause every little things gonna be alright..." (sic). Were the white flag and the tweet that followed signs that he has reached some sort of compromise with the board? Hope floats.

Sriram Veera is a staff writer at ESPNcricinfo

RSS Feeds: Sriram Veera

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (June 7, 2011, 11:15 GMT)

The umpiring blunders continue against an already struggling WI.....This at home also.....Hard luck boys

Posted by SRT_GENIUS on (June 7, 2011, 2:02 GMT)

@Jim1207: I think the rule and it's reasoning is clear to everyone but you. PErhaps you should take it up with ICC.

Posted by Zahidsaltin on (June 6, 2011, 0:41 GMT)

A bad decision can change the result. specially if it's about a in form batsman.

Posted by mogan707 on (June 5, 2011, 15:15 GMT)

Another incident missed out when Badrinath was reprieved by the umpire when he did not call the third umpire for a stumping when his foot was on the line. Just a case of nervous day for the umpires.Both are supposed to be from West-Indies and an international umpire from the elite panel would have certainly helped settle the nerves of the local ones during the crictical stages of decision making.

Posted by ravi1988 on (June 5, 2011, 8:12 GMT)

Why is that so many comments opposing the external protective gear??? I feel its perfectly fine. Look at 'Crespo77' comments. There should not be a question raised on this if you know Cricket. Don't compare this with cases like Pieterson's helmet wicket or Trott's hat touching the rope. Absolutely senseless..

Posted by sandeeppatel17 on (June 5, 2011, 6:31 GMT)

The reaction of the day - II :- Well unfortunately he was not out because ball didn't touch bat or bat gloves and not because ball touches keeper helmet ("since a batsman cannot be given out if the ball touches the external protective gear of a fielder.") then why batsman is given out when keeper caches with the gloves which actually is an external protective gear and also for the keeper pads. Please answer...

The effort of the day :- Isn't your effort of the day was actually was a "six" instead of given four according to your so called rules.

Posted by bala-chala on (June 5, 2011, 5:59 GMT)

@Vibrant_patel Spot on m8. Such a thing happened to Kevin Pietersen when his helmet flew off and hit the stumps. Also in the WC Trott caught the ball and his hat was touching the rope. It was given 6. The MCC needs to look into these laws.

Posted by Jim1207 on (June 5, 2011, 4:22 GMT)

Crespo77, Yes, agreed for a fielder. But the keeper is anyway going to stand close to the stumps for a spinner or a medium pace bowler so his helmet must not be a reason for keeper standing near the batsman, keepers have stood for long near to the stumps and I still do not understand how keeper's helmet is going to be infavourable to batsman so as to penalise fielding team. What you said is true for a fielder, I am absolutely in line with you. Though I understand all the reasons you have told and why the cricket rule book is written so, I feel keeper's helmet should not be emphasized. If a keeper uses helmet intentionally to ricochet, umpire will come to know and can not give batsman out at that time. If it is accidental, I feel that keeper's helmet must not be a problem. We have seen catches allowed for a keeper or fielder catching the ball with two legs (with no fielding pads of course) with no hands involved, so I feel sorry for keeper being penalized for his helmet.

Posted by ProfKincaid on (June 5, 2011, 4:01 GMT)

I guess for the last few matches why cricinfo is really writing against Indian players and criticizing Indian players in every aspect. You should be ashamed of this. You dot even congratulate Indian team on their win in 1st T20 match against WI. Indian team won comfortably and whats your title India win despite.... Suddenly cricinfo seems to be edited by very bias members. Reaction and distraction of the day simply written to show that India didnt won they were gifted a win by WI.

Posted by Vibrant_Patel on (June 5, 2011, 3:56 GMT)

If Helmet considered to be external gear of a player , then what decision would made if situation will come such that.... (1) If Batsmen's helmet touches the stumps while running or batting or any other means & dislodge the bails...??? (Normal Result : HIT WICKET; as per this Rule, it should be Not-Out) (2) If Wicket-Keeper Catches the ball running towards boundry ropes (mostly behind the wickets) & in the process fell down & his helmet touch the rope...?? (Normal Result : Not-Out with 6 runs given ; as per this Rule, it should be OUT)

Posted by   on (June 5, 2011, 3:53 GMT)

Team for ODI in order of batting Yusuf ( samll gamble becos if he gets going WI will not recover) Parthiv Kohli Rohit Tiwari Raina Badrinath Mishra Harbhajan Ishant Praveen

Badri,Yususf,Kohli,Raina,Rohit combine to become 5th bowler

Posted by Crespo77 on (June 5, 2011, 3:37 GMT)

Jim1207, the rule does not speak to external gear - it speaks to external PROTECTIVE gear. Helmets allowed silly fielders to get closer and and closer with less fear of injury. So the fielders got an advantage. To counteract that, the rule was put in place that if the ball were to come into contact with the external protective gear, then the batsman should not be punished for it. So if a batsman played a powerful pull shot and it ricocheted off the helmet and went high up and the ball was caught, then the batsman would not be given out. Because had the fielder not been wearing a helmet, he would not have been there in the first place, and the ball would certainly not have ricocheted like that. So you comparing the helmet to the boot is inappropriate because the boot is not a piece of protective equipment that allows the fielder to get closer to the batsman than he normally would.

Posted by Jim1207 on (June 4, 2011, 22:16 GMT)

rahulcricindia, I am not talking about this dismissal as it should not be out because ball did not touch the bat in the first place. I am talking generally about the cricket rule book why keeper wearing the helmet is considered as an extra gear? Just because keeper can opt to wear or not? As you said, if "the keeper is not wearing the helmet" it should be given runs but why is it not considered out when the keeper wears the helmet on? I feel if ball ricocheting from keeper's helmet is not given out, it should not be given out when the ball ricochets from his boot. Both are unfortunate for the batsman, but the rules should be uniform. Oncethe keeper wears the helmet on, it should be considered as part of keeper's body and not as extra wear.

Posted by SangramSinghRana on (June 4, 2011, 21:59 GMT)

For ODI, I will suggest three changes in the Indian side - (1) Replace Munaf Patel with Ishant Sharma, to bring in some genuine pace. The WI skipper has ordered bouncy pitches, hence Ishant's raw pace will be more helpful than Munaf's predictable medium pace. (2) Replace Ashwin with Amit Mishra. Ashwin was expensive today. Mishra is very economical and turns the ball more. (3) Replace Dhawan with Tiwari. Tiwari should play at number 6 and Rohit should open the batting with Parthiv Patel.

Posted by   on (June 4, 2011, 21:55 GMT)

well,darren,samuels can bat as long as they want,but shiv they say bat too slow,he has proven over and over he is dependable,but the admin is killing his cricket,the coach,and higher up need to be firer,cuz they are the ones killing west indies cricket.sachin can bat and bat and they coaches are happy.go india.

Posted by rahulcricindia on (June 4, 2011, 19:51 GMT)

@Jim1207 boot comes under the normal attire of a player .....but helmate doesn't its your extra protection and even when the fielding team helmate is laying on ground and it is touched by ball which is played by batsman five runs are awarded to batting team ....in this case also instead of out five runs should be awarded to the team ...as it actually did not hit the bat....

Posted by J.Inbaraj on (June 4, 2011, 19:50 GMT)

Good performance by india.. But wrong umpire decisions ruined the match, hope they'll correct it in upcoming matches.. Good anchor innings from Badhri and i hope he'll continue it in ODI's and prove his worth of selection..

Posted by uno.numero on (June 4, 2011, 19:41 GMT)

I am an India and I too think Simmons's dismissal was a shame even it was in India;s favour. But he didn't look good anyways and I don't think it made any difference to change the scenario, but justice had to delivered. Later, Munaf and Praven (last over's of both) bowled very pathetic as if it was they didn't care how much was scored off them. Aswin in his last over too bowled bad.

Posted by   on (June 4, 2011, 19:40 GMT)

team for ist odi : parthiv,virat,pathan,badri,manoj,raina,rohit,harbhajan,mishra,parveen,ishant

Posted by Jim1207 on (June 4, 2011, 18:58 GMT)

I do not understand why hitting keeper's helmet is a problem, even if that was a rule. If keeper had kept on the ground and if the ball hits it, it is four, I agree. But ball hitting keeper's helmet is same as a ricichet off keeper's boot where the batsman is given out, why so then?Is the shoe not considered as external gear, I think Kallis was given out in South Africa's choke against NZ in world cup. When the catch is valid when it comes out of shoe, why not helmet?

Posted by   on (June 4, 2011, 18:54 GMT)

West Indies batting lack the firing power. Their bowling is decent enough but batting needs to step up a lot. Dhawan's inclusion was shocking to me. Don't quite understand the reason behind his selection for this tour. His domestic performance haven been that great and he performs well only once in a blue moon.

Posted by rahulcricindia on (June 4, 2011, 18:38 GMT)

with bhajji and ashwin both indian bowling looks certainly strong....

Posted by   on (June 4, 2011, 18:20 GMT)

Meaningless game but great to see some west Indian flavour in cricket again though the performance was substandard . Hopefully the onedayers produce some quality . Would love to see Indian boys play as the No 1s . Go India Go

Posted by   on (June 4, 2011, 17:48 GMT)

I wasnt impressed with dhawan in todays game, he wasted time and then got out from a poor shot. Rohit sharma also, he never carries on he gets good starts then throws his wicket away. Badrinath looked a class above the rest and with the form he's in it would be good if he stays at number 4 for all the ODI's then the tests. india need to have badrinath in their best XI i dont care who he replaces, he just has to be there. Id have him over pujara anyday for test side, pujara is still young and has plenty of time to come back for india once senior players retire. i think people forget that when Badri made his ODI debut he was facing Murali and mendis and he actually looked really good in defence in his first match to guide the team home, also in his test debut he was up against Morkel and steyn, 2 of the top bowlers in the world, he scored a 50 in one of his 3 innings against a very strong bowling attack. Least now he can pick some easy runs against west indies (Bishoo is a threat tho)

Posted by   on (June 4, 2011, 17:38 GMT)

Was the DRS system available for the game? If yes, Windies shoud have challenge Simmons' dismissal. Also Bravo and Samuels thought that they were playing an ODI rather than T20. They really spoiled the batting middle overs. I admire Sammy, Barnwell and Hyatt who tried to get on with the batting.

Posted by xylo on (June 4, 2011, 17:35 GMT)

You can't give it out if it touches the protective gear of a fielder? Interesting... did not know about that until today.

Posted by   on (June 4, 2011, 17:31 GMT)

the level of umpiring in today's match was pathetic to say the least..!!

Posted by cric_fanatics on (June 4, 2011, 17:30 GMT)

given the bench strength...india were always going to win...well played boys...and this time its boys literally....

Comments have now been closed for this article

TopTop
Email Feedback Print
Share
E-mail
Feedback
Print
Sriram VeeraClose
Tour Results
West Indies v India at Roseau - Jul 6-10, 2011
Match drawn
West Indies v India at Bridgetown - Jun 28-Jul 2, 2011
Match drawn
West Indies v India at Kingston - Jun 20-23, 2011
India won by 63 runs
West Indies v India at Kingston - Jun 16, 2011
West Indies won by 7 wickets (with 8 balls remaining)
West Indies v India at North Sound - Jun 13, 2011
West Indies won by 103 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days