Carib Beer Series December 21, 2003

McGarrell appointed Guyana captain

Wisden Cricinfo staff

The experienced allrounder Neil McGarrell has been appointed as captain of Guyana for the first three matches of the 2004 Carib Beer Series. The selectors have also named a predictable 13-man squad for the three matches, that will all be played away from home.

McGarrell also led Guyana last year in the absence of Carl Hooper, who was leading West Indies in the World Cup in southern Africa at the time.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul captained Guyana in the Red Stripe Bowl last October, but both he and Ramnaresh Sarwan, the current West Indies vice-captain, are unavailable for Guyana's early matches as they are with the Test team in South Africa.

McGarrell, a left-arm spinner and solid lower-order batsman, has represented the West Indies in four Tests and 17 one-dayers. The legspinner Mahendra Nagamootoo, another player with international experience, is McGarrell's vice-captain.

Guyana's first match is at Bridgetown from January 9 to 12. They then play Jamaica at Kingston (Jan 16-19), and the Windward Islands at Roseau (Jan 23-26).

Guyana squad Neil McGarrell (capt), Sewnarine Chattergoon, Azeemul Haniff, Krishna Arjune, Lennox Cush, Travis Dowlin, Narsingh Deonarine, Vishal Nagamootoo, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Rayon Griffith, Rayon Thomas, Esaun Crandon, Andre Percival.