Carib Beer Series 2005-06, 4th day January 30, 2006

Guyana ward off spirited Jamaican chase

Cricinfo staff

Guyana progressed to the final-four stage by beating Jamaica by 51 runs at Chedwin Park. Resuming overnight on 114 for 6, Shivnarine Chanderpaul stood firm on 63 as Guyana were skittled for just 163 but their huge 170-run first-innings lead meant that Jamaica had to score 334 to win. Marlon Samuels (81) and Darren Powell (57) made a real fight of it but Narsingh Deonarine (4 for 64) and Mahendra Nagamootoo (3 for 93) bowled Guyana to victory. Chanderpaul was named Man of the Match for his scores of 75 and 63 not out.

Barbados completed the formality of taking one Leeward Islands wicket to romp to victory by 173 runs but Steve Liburd made them toil for it. Liburd extended Leewards' overnight score of 172 for 9 to 236 with an unbeaten 95. He was stranded just short of a century when Colin Hamer was the last man out. Ryan Hinds, who scored 168 in the first innings and 150 in the second, was named Man of the Match.

Trinidad and Tobago's title hopes ended as they slumped to a 86-run defeat against Windward Islands at Shaw Park. Set a target of 175, T&T collapsed for 88 with only Darren Ganga (37) offering resistance. Deighton Butler was adjudged Man of the Match for his 3 for 27 that rocked the T&T second innings. Earlier, Windwards resumed their innings on 77 for 5 but were dismissed for 118. Dave Mohammed picked up match figures of 11 for 118.