West Indies news September 17, 2012

Narine is T&T's Cricketer of the Year

ESPNcricinfo staff

The T&T Cricket Board (TTCB) has named West Indies offspinner Sunil Narine the T&T Cricketer of the Year. The honour comes a day after Narine was named the Emerging Player of the Year award at the ICC Awards in Colombo.

Narine took 31 wickets in three first-class regional four-day games in February this year, enabling him to beat T&T captain Denesh Ramdin, left-arm spinner Kavesh Kantasingh, and bastmen Darren Bravo and Kieron Pollard for the award. His 8 for 17 in the second innings against Combined Campuses and Colleges are his career-best first-class bowling figures in an innings - he finished with 13 wickets in the match.

Narine also took 15 wickets in the Regional Super50, being the highest-wicket taker of the tournament, and took seven wickets in six matches in the Caribbean Twenty20 tournament.

T&T's Five National Cricketers of the Year were Narine, Darren Bravo, Shannon Gabriel, Ramdin, Pollard and Kantasingh.

West Indies' captain Merissa Aguilleira was adjudged the Women's Player of the Year.