The sprinter who ran a marathon

Test batting winner: Brendon McCullum's gutsy 302 at Basin Reserve

Special and brutal

Test bowling winner: When Mitchell Johnson made the South Africans shiver in Centurion

Freakish and predictable

ODI batting winner: Rohit Sharma's monumental 264 at Eden Gardens

Older, slower, still deadly

ODI bowling winner: Lasith Malinga fired it Sri Lanka's way in the Asia Cup final

Hales achieves blast-off

T20 batting winner: Alex Hales ended England's long wait for a T20 century

A master sans mystery

T20 bowling winner: When Rangana Herath lorded it over New Zealand's batsmen

A year for New Zealand, and Angelo Mathews

Statsguru Awards: Also starring Steyn, Herath, McCullum and de Villiers

  • Ajit Agarkar
    Former India fast bowler
  • Russel Arnold
    Former Sri Lanka allrounder; commentator
  • Sambit Bal
    Editor-in-chief, ESPNcricinfo
  • Michael Bevan
    Former Australia batsman
  • Daniel Brettig
    Assistant editor, ESPNcricinfo
  • Mark Butcher
    Former England batsman
  • Ian Chappell
    Former Australia captain; commentator
  • Aakash Chopra
    Former India opener
  • Brydon Coverdale
    Assistant editor, ESPNcricinfo
  • Martin Crowe
    Former New Zealand captain
  • Daryll Cullinan
    Former South Africa batsman
  • George Dobell
    Senior correspondent, ESPNcricinfo
  • Rahul Dravid
    Former India captain; commentator
  • Andrew Fernando
    Sri Lanka correspondent, ESPNcricinfo
  • Michael Holding
    Former West Indies fast bowler; commentator
  • David Hopps
    UK editor, ESPNcricinfo
  • Mohammad Isam
    Bangladesh correspondent, ESPNcricinfo
  • Jarrod Kimber
    Writer, ESPNcricinfo
  • Sidharth Monga
    Assistant editor, ESPNcricinfo
  • Firdose Moonda
    South Africa correspondent, ESPNcricinfo
  • Mark Nicholas
    Former Hampshire captain; presenter
  • Ricky Ponting
    Former Australia captain
  • Ramiz Raja
    Former Pakistan captain and administrator; commentator
  • Osman Samiuddin
    Sportswriter at the National
  • Graeme Smith
    Former South Africa captain
  • Sharda Ugra
    Senior editor, ESPNcricinfo

About The Awards

The ESPNcricinfo Awards recognise the best individual batting and bowling performances in cricket over the calendar year. They are voted on by an independent jury of former cricketers, commentators, and ESPNcricinfo's senior writers. Previous winners have included Dale Steyn, Virender Sehwag, Shahid Afridi and Kumar Sangakkara.

Statsguru Awards

Which batsman was the most consistent over the year? Who was the best bowler in the third and fourth innings? The Statsguru Awards go beyond runs scored, wickets taken, or averages, and are the result of detailed data analyses of performances. ESPNcricinfo's ball-by-ball data analysis of every international game has answers to these queries and more.