1st T20I (N), Durban, Dec 21 2012, New Zealand tour of South Africa
(12.1/20 ov, target 87)
South Africa won by 8 wickets (with 47 balls remaining)
Player Of The Match
South Africa
New Zealand Innings (20 overs maximum)
RJ Nicol c †de Kock b Kleinveldt3590060.00
PG Fulton c Morris b Steyn913182069.23
BB McCullum (c) †c Steyn b Kleinveldt611121054.54
JEC Franklin c †de Kock b McLaren0310000.00
C Munro c & b Morris23183440127.77
CJ Anderson c Levi b Morris55610100.00
NL McCullum  b Peterson1750014.28
JDS Neesham  b Peterson107820142.85
DAJ Bracewell not out2125323084.00
RM Hira c Kleinveldt b Steyn513190038.46
MJ McClenaghan c Peterson b Kleinveldt035000.00
Extras(lb 1, w 2)3
TOTAL(18.2 Ov, RR: 4.69)86
Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Rob Nicol, 2.1 ov), 2-19 (Peter Fulton, 3.6 ov), 3-19 (Brendon McCullum, 4.5 ov), 4-27 (James Franklin, 6.2 ov), 5-34 (Corey Anderson, 7.3 ov), 6-36 (Nathan McCullum, 8.5 ov), 7-54 (James Neesham, 10.4 ov), 8-60 (Colin Munro, 11.6 ov), 9-81 (Ronnie Hira, 17.1 ov), 10-86 (Mitchell McClenaghan, 18.2 ov)
R McLaren402716.75135000
DW Steyn301324.33111010
RK Kleinveldt3.211835.40144000
CH Morris3.401925.18133010
RJ Peterson40822.00170000
F du Plessis0.20000.0020000
South Africa Innings (target: 87 runs from 20 overs)
RE Levi c Fulton b McClenaghan052000.00
H Davids  b Hira20132531153.84
F du Plessis (c)not out38324560118.75
Q de Kock not out28232350121.73
Extras(w 1)1
TOTAL(12.1 Ov, RR: 7.15)87/2
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Richard Levi, 0.5 ov), 2-45 (Henry Davids, 5.3 ov)
MJ McClenaghan312016.66114000
DAJ Bracewell2021010.5063110
RM Hira301515.00102000
CJ Anderson1011011.0012000
NL McCullum20703.5081000
RJ Nicol1011011.0012000
JDS Neesham0.102012.0000000
Kingsmead, Durban
TossNew Zealand , elected to bat first
SeriesNew Zealand tour of South Africa
Player Of The Match
Rory Kleinveldt
Series resultSouth Africa led the 3-match series 1-0
Match numberT20I no. 293
Hours of play (local time)18.00 start, First Session 18.00-19.20 Interval 19.20-19.40, Second Session 19.40-21.00
Match days21 December 2012 - night match (20-over match)
T20I debut
Henry Davids
Quinton de Kock
Chris Morris
Colin Munro
Corey Anderson
James Neesham
Mitchell McClenaghan
Johan Cloete
Shaun George
TV Umpire
Adrian Holdstock
Reserve Umpire
Brian Jerling
Match Referee
Andy Pycroft
New Zealand innings
  • Powerplay: Overs 0.1 - 6.0 (Mandatory - 27 runs, 3 wickets)
  • New Zealand: 50 runs in 9.5 overs (59 balls), Extras 2
  • Innings Break: New Zealand - 86/10 in 18.2 overs (DAJ Bracewell 21)
South Africa innings
  • Powerplay: Overs 0.1 - 6.0 (Mandatory - 46 runs, 2 wickets)
  • South Africa: 50 runs in 6.2 overs (38 balls), Extras 1