New Zealand rout India with 210-run win

New Zealand 272 for 7 (Drumm 67*, Tiffen 79, Bates 69) beat India 62 (Milliken 3-30, Burke 3-17) by 210 runs

New Zealand finished the five-match ODI series 4-1 with a thumping 210-run win against India in the final ODI at Lincoln. After posting 272, the New Zealand bowlers decimated India for a paltry 62 in only 28.2 overs.

New Zealand, after choosing to bat first were propelled by a 105-run third wicket stand between Haidee Tiffen (79) and Suzie Bates (69). Karu Jain had a remarkable day behind the stumps, effecting five stumpings, as the batters regularly stepped down the track trying to cart the spinners Neetu David and Reema Malhotra over the top. Both spinners took three wickets each. Emily Drumm and Nicola Browne kept the score ticking with some excellent running between the wickets, adding 71 for the sixth wicket, hitting only four fours in total. Drumm remained not out on 67 off 66 balls.

Jain started the chase positively, striking four boundaries before the collapse started. Louise Milliken and Sarah Burke, the opening bowlers ran through the Indian batting line-up sharing six wickets between them. Only two players, Jain (19) and Mithali Raj (12*) managed to reach double figures.