County Championship Division One at Canterbury, Jul 11-14 2008
410 & 196
(38.3 ov, target 140)
467 & 142/7
Kent won by 3 wickets
Yorkshire 1st Innings
AW Gale c Stevens b Joseph1016221062.50
A Lyth lbw b Azhar Mahmood501021396049.01
A McGrath (c)c van Jaarsveld b Saggers14422628616263.71
JA Rudolph c †Jones b Azhar Mahmood12921024712161.42
GS Ballance lbw b Yasir Arafat11412007.14
GL Brophy c Stevens b Yasir Arafat01115000.00
MJ Hoggard c †Jones b Azhar Mahmood2449694048.97
AU Rashid c Kemp b Azhar Mahmood01111000.00
TT Bresnan lbw b Azhar Mahmood1021251047.61
Naved-ul-Hasan c Stevens b Azhar Mahmood42-10200.00
GJ Kruis not out55810100.00
Extras(b 4, lb 9, nb 18, w 2)33
TOTAL(109.4 Ov, RR: 3.73)410
Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Andrew Gale), 2-124 (Adam Lyth), 3-341 (Anthony McGrath), 4-344 (Gary Ballance), 5-348 (Gerard Brophy), 6-384 (Jacques Rudolph), 7-384 (Adil Rashid), 8-395 (Matthew Hoggard), 9-399 (Naved-ul-Hasan), 10-410 (Tim Bresnan)
Yasir Arafat2339524.1304
RH Joseph1216615.5015
Azhar Mahmood24.465562.2200
MJ Saggers1405914.2110
JC Tredwell2958903.0600
DI Stevens201507.5000
M van Jaarsveld511803.6000
Kent 1st Innings
JL Denly lbw b Hoggard48434690111.62
RWT Key (c) b Rashid15726738017058.80
JC Tredwell c Gale b Rashid481241366038.70
M van Jaarsveld  b McGrath3540060.00
DI Stevens c Rudolph b Rashid3970033.33
JM Kemp c Rudolph b Rashid1221211057.14
GO Jones lbw b Naved-ul-Hasan1035261028.57
Azhar Mahmood c †Brophy b Bresnan2348442047.91
Yasir Arafat not out9012614813071.42
RH Joseph c Rudolph b Rashid2760028.57
MJ Saggers c †Brophy b Bresnan3351547064.70
Extras(b 3, lb 14, nb 21)38
TOTAL(121 Ov, RR: 3.85)467
Fall of wickets: 1-68 (Joe Denly), 2-203 (James Tredwell), 3-208 (Martin van Jaarsveld), 4-211 (Darren Stevens), 5-235 (Justin Kemp), 6-261 (Geraint Jones), 7-305 (Azhar Mahmood), 8-396 (Rob Key), 9-398 (Robbie Joseph), 10-467 (Martin Saggers)
MJ Hoggard1405714.0700
GJ Kruis2138203.9002
TT Bresnan2525122.0403
AU Rashid35214054.0000
A McGrath711812.5700
Yorkshire 2nd Innings
AW Gale c †Jones b Tredwell3659785061.01
A Lyth c van Jaarsveld b Yasir Arafat85720160.00
A McGrath (c)c van Jaarsveld b Azhar Mahmood2531543180.64
JA Rudolph c Azhar Mahmood b van Jaarsveld47751035162.66
GS Ballance c van Jaarsveld b Saggers529281017.24
GL Brophy lbw b Yasir Arafat5162736082.25
AU Rashid c Kemp b Joseph417201023.52
TT Bresnan c Kemp b Joseph216220012.50
Naved-ul-Hasan c Denly b Yasir Arafat871020114.28
MJ Hoggard not out037000.00
GJ Kruis c Kemp b Yasir Arafat3430075.00
Extras(b 1, lb 3, nb 2, w 1)7
TOTAL(51.1 Ov, RR: 3.83)196
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Adam Lyth), 2-68 (Anthony McGrath), 3-72 (Andrew Gale), 4-89 (Gary Ballance), 5-173 (Jacques Rudolph), 6-176 (Gerard Brophy), 7-182 (Adil Rashid), 8-193 (Naved-ul-Hasan), 9-193 (Tim Bresnan), 10-196 (Deon Kruis)
Azhar Mahmood1013613.6000
Yasir Arafat9.123844.1411
JC Tredwell1345113.9200
M van Jaarsveld401012.5000
MJ Saggers823214.0000
RH Joseph712523.5700
Kent 2nd Innings (target: 140 runs)
JL Denly c Bresnan b Hoggard19182630105.55
RWT Key (c)c †Brophy b Hoggard1536500041.66
JC Tredwell c Rudolph b Rashid641531014.63
M van Jaarsveld lbw b Naved-ul-Hasan4152697078.84
DI Stevens st †Brophy b Rashid43610133.33
JM Kemp c †Brophy b Naved-ul-Hasan1035351028.57
GO Jones not out2026332076.92
Azhar Mahmood c †Brophy b Naved-ul-Hasan2560040.00
Yasir Arafat not out19152130126.66
Extras(b 4, lb 2)6
TOTAL(38.3 Ov, RR: 3.68)142/7
Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Joe Denly), 2-37 (Rob Key), 3-51 (James Tredwell), 4-63 (Darren Stevens), 5-101 (Martin van Jaarsveld), 6-102 (Justin Kemp), 7-108 (Azhar Mahmood)
MJ Hoggard1122722.4500
TT Bresnan1013103.1000
AU Rashid904625.1100
GJ Kruis40802.0000
St Lawrence Ground, Canterbury
TossYorkshire , elected to bat first
SeriesCounty Championship Division One 2008
Hours of play (local time)11am start, Lunch 13.00-13.40, Tea 15.40-16.00, Close 18.00
Match days11,12,13,14 July 2008 (4-day match)
Test debut
Gary Ballance
Richard Kettleborough
Trevor Jesty
PointsKent 22, Yorkshire 8
Fri, 11 Jul - day 1 - Yorkshire 1st innings 358/5 (JA Rudolph 120*, MJ Hoggard 1*, 95.1 ov)
Sat, 12 Jul - day 2 - Kent 1st innings 298/6 (RWT Key 122*, Azhar Mahmood 21*, 80 ov)
Sun, 13 Jul - day 3 - Yorkshire 2nd innings 196
Mon, 14 Jul - day 4 - Kent 2nd innings 142/7 (38.3 ov) - end of match
Day 3
  • Umpire RA Kettleborough replaced on Day 3 by Terry Urben due to illness
Day 2
  • Kent 1st innings
  • RWT Key 100 in 219 mins off 174 balls, 13x4
Day 1
  • Yorkshire 1st innings
  • A McGrath 100 in 220 mins off 178 balls, 12x4
  • JA Rudolph 100 in 144 mins off 143 balls, 12x4, 1x6