Vinod's maiden fifty sets up Kerala win

Kerala's Vishnu Vinod plays through the off side BCCI

Vishnu Vinod's maiden T20 fifty led Kerala to a 21-run victory over Andhra in Chennai. With him lasting as long as the 15th over, making sure both the first and the second wicket partnerships totalled 50 runs or more, Kerala were able to put up 175 for 7 in their 20 overs. Bandaru Ayyappa and KV Sasikanth were Andhra's most successful bowlers, picking up 2 for 39 and 2 for 29 respectively. Kerala's bowlers built on their batsmen's momentum, with Sandeep Warrier (2-28) and Basil Thampi (3-18) handing out ducks to Andhra's No. 3 Prasanth Kumar and their captain Hanuma Vihari. Although Ricky Bhui found back with 48 off 36 balls, supported by Dwaraka Ravi Teja (33 off 20) and Shoaib Md Khan (20 off 7), they couldn't make up for the top-order mishaps.

Hyderabad crushed Goa by 51 runs, thanks to Tanmay Agarwal's career-best 91 that helped them post 224 in Chennai. Agarwal put on 111 for the opening wicket with Akshath Reddy (55 off 32) and 97 for the second with S Badrinath (49 off 22) before his 48-ball knock came to an end. With the exception of debutant legspinner Ganeshraj Narvekar (1-28), all of Goa's bowlers went at more than 9.5 per over. In their response, Goa lost early wickets and were kept tight by medium-pacers M Ravi Kiran and Mohammed Siraj, who took 1 for 53 in the eight overs between them. Sagun Kamat (50 off 44) and Saurabh Bandekar (53* off 25) scored half-centuries, but Goa could muster only 173 for 5 in their 20 overs.

A 55-run stand for the sixth wicket between Dinesh Karthik (45) and M Ashwin (34) helped Tamil Nadu overcome a middle order wobble to beat Karnataka by four wickets. They chased down Karnataka's 144 for 9, achieved largely thanks to R Samarth's 40, with four balls to spare. Karnataka were left to rue a poor fielding effort that resulted in them reprieving Ashwin twice in one over off R Vinay Kumar; Mohammad Taha put down the chances at long-on. Samarth aside, five other Karnataka batsmen made double figures; three of them made 16.

Andhra 2nd innings Partnerships

1st20KS BharatK Ashwin Hebbar
2nd1DB PrasanthKS Bharat
3rd1GH VihariKS Bharat
4th55KS BharatRK Bhui
5th49DB Ravi TejaRK Bhui
6th2DB Ravi TejaKV Sasikanth
7th21KV SasikanthShoaib Md Khan
8th5BA BhattShoaib Md Khan