Top order sets up Vidarbha win

Ambati Rayudu cuts the ball square AFP

A strong showing from Vidarbha's top order, who led the side to 172 for 6, set the base for the side's 23-run win over Railways in Jaipur. Having lost Faiz Fazal for 1 in the second over after being put in to bat, Jitesh Sharma (41 off 40 balls), Ambati Rayudu and Akshay Karnewar put together substantial partnerships for the second and third wickets. Rayudu struck 45 off 29 balls, with four fours and three sixes, in a 67-run stand for the second wicket, while Karnewar scored a 24-ball 42, hitting five fours and a six. Vidarbha garnered 56 off the last five overs, helped along by Apoorv Wankhade, who was unbeaten on 34 off 19 balls. Railways' response of 149 for 7 was propped up largely by wicketkeeper Mahesh Rawat's 41-ball 55 and Anureet Singh's 17-ball unbeaten 32 at No. 9. Karnewar and Ravi Jangid both picked up two wickets.

A 110-run second-wicket partnership between Ankit Lamba (61 off 48) and Puneet Yadav (61 off 37) set up Rajasthan's 16-run win over Uttar Pradesh in Jaipur. The two batsmen took Rajasthan past 150 in the 17th over before they lost six wickets in the next three to eventually finish on 169. Fast bowler Ankit Rajpoot - who struck thrice in the 18th - finished with career-best T20 figures of 5 for 20.

In their pursuit, UP opener Prashant Gupta hit 40 in a 61-run opening stand with Samarth Singh. But the innings fell away once it was broken as Rajasthan took five wickets in five overs between the ninth and 14th to leave the score at 93 for 5. Offspinner Tajinder Singh took 2 for 13 and left-arm chinaman spinner Mahipal Lomror finished with 2 for 41 and UP spluttered to 153 for 7 in their 20 overs.

Railways 2nd innings Partnerships

1st13SP WakaskarAshish Singh
2nd12SP WakaskarFaiz Ahmed
3rd15M RawatSP Wakaskar
4th21M RawatR Jonathan
5th44KV SharmaM Rawat
6th3M RawatACP Mishra
7th2ACP MishraMN Rao
8th39Anureet SinghMN Rao