Leeds, Jun 11 - 14 2009, County Championship Division One
277 & 248
(85.3 ov, target 296)230 & 296/6
Somerset won by 4 wickets
Yorkshire 1st INNINGS
Jacques Rudolph  b Thomas1450582028.00
Joe Sayers c Langer b Willoughby601211636149.58
Anthony McGrath (c)c †Kieswetter b Stiff1628422057.14
Andrew Gale lbw b Trego351111334031.53
Jonny Bairstow  b Munday2849751057.14
Gerard Brophy c & b Thomas3385962038.82
Tim Bresnan c Willoughby b Munday481071204244.85
Naved-ul-Hasan  b Willoughby10101200100.00
Ajmal Shahzad not out 822321036.36
David Wainwright c Trescothick b Thomas110120010.00
Matthew Hoggard c †Kieswetter b Willoughby1640016.66
Extras(b 5, lb 12, nb 4, w 2)23
TOTAL(99.3 Ov, RR: 2.78)277
Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Jacques Rudolph), 2-72 (Anthony McGrath), 3-111 (Joe Sayers), 4-166 (Andrew Gale), 5-166 (Jonny Bairstow), 6-248 (Gerard Brophy), 7-261 (Naved-ul-Hasan), 8-269 (Tim Bresnan), 9-274 (David Wainwright), 10-277 (Matthew Hoggard)
David Stiff1724712.76---10
Charl Willoughby23.3113031.27---00
Alfonso Thomas2014832.40---01
Arul Suppiah31903.00---00
Peter Trego1343112.38---00
Mike Munday1606824.25---00
Zander de Bruyn722703.85---11
Somerset 1st INNINGS
Marcus Trescothick c †Brophy b Hoggard041000.00
Arul Suppiah lbw b Wainwright2061961032.78
Justin Langer (c)c †Brophy b Hoggard02-000.00
James Hildreth c McGrath b Hoggard20182350111.11
Zander de Bruyn lbw b Hoggard014000.00
Craig Kieswetter c †Brophy b Shahzad8313115011063.35
Peter Trego c Gale b Hoggard311100027.27
Alfonso Thomas not out 641391733146.04
David Stiff c McGrath b Wainwright2858664048.27
Mike Munday c McGrath b Wainwright11413007.14
Charl Willoughby  b Shahzad01010000.00
Extras(b 2, lb 9)11
TOTAL(74.5 Ov, RR: 3.07)230
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Marcus Trescothick), 2-0 (Justin Langer), 3-26 (James Hildreth), 4-30 (Zander de Bruyn), 5-84 (Arul Suppiah), 6-97 (Peter Trego), 7-149 (Craig Kieswetter), 8-215 (David Stiff), 9-219 (Mike Munday), 10-230 (Charl Willoughby)
Matthew Hoggard1635653.50---00
Tim Bresnan1232602.16---00
Ajmal Shahzad14.534122.76---00
David Wainwright1744932.88---00
Yorkshire 2nd INNINGS
Jacques Rudolph c Trego b Willoughby2228403078.57
Joe Sayers c Langer b Trego18951321018.94
Matthew Hoggard c †Kieswetter b Thomas424251016.66
Anthony McGrath (c) b Thomas910142090.00
Andrew Gale c Trego b Munday30222750136.36
Jonny Bairstow not out 821491967155.03
Gerard Brophy lbw b Stiff1427331051.85
Tim Bresnan c Trescothick b Stiff720220035.00
Naved-ul-Hasan c Langer b Willoughby2241462053.65
Ajmal Shahzad c Trego b Willoughby412181033.33
David Wainwright c Trescothick b Munday2342504054.76
Extras(b 4, lb 1, nb 2, w 6)13
TOTAL(78.1 Ov, RR: 3.17)248
Fall of wickets: 1-26 (Jacques Rudolph), 2-33 (Matthew Hoggard), 3-49 (Anthony McGrath), 4-87 (Andrew Gale), 5-92 (Joe Sayers), 6-111 (Gerard Brophy), 7-133 (Tim Bresnan), 8-181 (Naved-ul-Hasan), 9-193 (Ajmal Shahzad), 10-248 (David Wainwright)
Charl Willoughby2494631.91---00
David Stiff1214924.08---20
Alfonso Thomas2147823.71---00
Mike Munday9.104625.01---01
Peter Trego1232412.00---00
Somerset 2nd INNINGS (target: 296 runs)
Marcus Trescothick c †Bairstow b Wainwright781321877059.09
Arul Suppiah  b Shahzad1537462040.54
Justin Langer (c)c †Bairstow b Naved-ul-Hasan461351823034.07
James Hildreth c Rudolph b Wainwright51071050.00
Zander de Bruyn not out 701011395169.30
Craig Kieswetter c †Bairstow b Bresnan2547412153.19
Peter Trego c †Bairstow b Shahzad2341433156.09
Alfonso Thomas not out 12111510109.09
Extras(b 5, lb 15, nb 2)22
TOTAL(85.3 Ov, RR: 3.46)296/6
Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Arul Suppiah), 2-131 (Marcus Trescothick), 3-139 (James Hildreth), 4-179 (Justin Langer), 5-221 (Craig Kieswetter), 6-274 (Peter Trego)
Matthew Hoggard1415203.71---00
Ajmal Shahzad15.334522.90---00
Tim Bresnan2045512.75---01
Jacques Rudolph10101.00---00
David Wainwright1806623.66---00
Headingley, Leeds
TossYorkshire, elected to bat first
SeriesCounty Championship Division One
Hours of play (local time)11am start, Lunch 13.00-13.40, Tea 15.40-16.00, Close 18.00
Match days11,12,13,14 June 2009 - day (4-day match)
FC debut
Jonny Bairstow
Jonny Bairstow
England Image
Keith Coburn
England Image
Peter Hartley
PointsSomerset 18, Yorkshire 5
Thu, 11 Jun - day 1 - Yorkshire 1st innings 269/8 (Ajmal Shahzad 2*, David Wainwright 0*, 96 ov)
Fri, 12 Jun - day 2 - Yorkshire 2nd innings 26/1 (Joe Sayers 4*, Matthew Hoggard 0*, 13 ov)
Sat, 13 Jun - day 3 - Somerset 2nd innings 88/1 (Marcus Trescothick 58*, Justin Langer 10*, 30 ov)
Sun, 14 Jun - day 4 - Somerset 2nd innings 296/6 (85.3 ov) - end of match
Day 4
  • Bairstow kept wicket in the Somerset 2nd innings in place of Brophy who has a hand injury.