Perth, Jan 6 - 9 2009, Cricket Australia Cup
(target 337)278 & 338/5
WA 2nd XI won by 5 wickets
New South Wales Second XI 1st INNINGS
Greg Mail (c) b Rosario2152792040.38
Usman Khawaja c Johnston b Pomersbach12624235415252.06
Ed Cowan c †Johnson b Porter37324570115.62
Grant Lambert  b Porter720231035.00
Tim Cruickshank c †Johnson b Porter53871126160.91
Beau Casson c Stoinis b Kelly3058765051.72
Peter Nevill c Porter b Rosario30981054030.61
Simon Keen c b Pomersbach527340018.51
Brendon McDonald c †Johnson b Porter1240480030.00
Josh Lalor not out 823370034.78
Burt Cockley c †Johnson b Rosario1718252194.44
Extras(b 2, lb 9, nb 5, w 10)26
TOTAL(115.2 Ov, RR: 3.22)372
Did not bat: Mitchell Starc 
Fall of wickets: 1-46 (Greg Mail, 18.3 ov), 2-100 (Ed Cowan, 29.3 ov), 3-126 (Grant Lambert, 35.1 ov), 4-241 (Tim Cruickshank, 65.4 ov), 5-280 (Usman Khawaja, 77.2 ov), 6-287 (Beau Casson, 84.2 ov), 7-303 (Simon Keen, 93.4 ov), 8-342 (Brendon McDonald, 106.6 ov), 9-348 (Peter Nevill, 109.4 ov), 10-372 (Burt Cockley, 115.2 ov)
Trent Kelly2669213.53---51
Arron Crawford12.516204.83---00
Drew Porter2558143.24---10
Craig Rosario26.396632.49---34
Josh Mangan1122702.45---00
Luke Pomersbach1423322.35---10
Western Australia Second XI 1st INNINGS
Wes Robinson c †Nevill b Lambert5971908083.09
Marcus Stoinis c †Nevill b Cockley1140562027.50
Clint Heron c Cruickshank b Lambert51761359067.10
Luke Pomersbach  b Lambert881010100.00
Matt Johnston c Mail b Keen5184954360.71
Robert Richards c †Nevill b Starc2756745048.21
Michael Johnson c †Nevill b Lambert411151036.36
Drew Porter lbw b Lalor045000.00
Josh Mangan (c) b Lalor23951133024.21
Ty Hopes lbw b Lambert1742532040.47
Trent Kelly not out 044000.00
Extras(b 4, lb 11, nb 11, w 1)27
TOTAL(80.1 Ov, RR: 3.46)278
Did not bat: Craig Rosario 
Fall of wickets: 1-41 (Marcus Stoinis, 12.4 ov), 2-91 (Wes Robinson, 20.5 ov), 3-106 (Luke Pomersbach, 22.5 ov), 3-180 (39.3 ov), 4-196 (Clint Heron, 42.5 ov), 5-209 (Michael Johnson, 46.3 ov), 6-212 (Drew Porter, 47.6 ov), 7-226 (Robert Richards, 56.6 ov), 8-249 (Matt Johnston, 65.1 ov), 9-278 (Josh Mangan, 79.2 ov), 10-278 (Ty Hopes, 80.1 ov)
Burt Cockley11.132412.14---03
Mitchell Starc1233112.58---10
Grant Lambert1637154.43---07
Josh Lalor1744722.76---00
Beau Casson1.30604.00---00
Brendon McDonald9.323403.57---01
Simon Keen1335013.84---00
New South Wales Second XI 2nd INNINGS
Usman Khawaja c †Johnson b Rosario928301032.14
Greg Mail (c) b Porter1339522033.33
Ed Cowan c Heron b Rosario7314423310050.69
Grant Lambert c Richards b Porter2169713030.43
Tim Cruickshank c Mangan b Porter1550020.00
Peter Nevill c Mangan b Rosario628310021.42
Simon Keen c Porter b Kelly671121348059.82
Brendon McDonald  b Kelly2552632048.07
Josh Lalor  b Mangan053000.00
Mitchell Starc lbw b Kelly414181028.57
Burt Cockley not out 59141055.55
Extras(b 13, lb 2, nb 2, w 1)18
TOTAL(83.5 Ov, RR: 2.88)242
Did not bat: Beau Casson 
Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Usman Khawaja, 7.5 ov), 2-32 (Greg Mail, 12.2 ov), 3-80 (Grant Lambert, 32.4 ov), 4-83 (Tim Cruickshank, 34.2 ov), 5-107 (Peter Nevill, 42.4 ov), 6-170 (Ed Cowan, 62.5 ov), 7-226 (Simon Keen, 77.6 ov), 8-227 (Josh Lalor, 78.6 ov), 9-233 (Brendon McDonald, 79.6 ov), 10-242 (Mitchell Starc, 83.5 ov)
Trent Kelly21.594331.96---00
Craig Rosario1624332.68---01
Drew Porter1343332.53---10
Josh Mangan2537613.04---00
Ty Hopes411403.50---00
Luke Pomersbach201206.00---00
Robert Richards20603.00---01
Western Australia Second XI 2nd INNINGS (target: 337 runs)
Wes Robinson lbw b Mail2860872046.66
Marcus Stoinis c Cowan b Lambert7510311412072.81
Clint Heron lbw b McDonald3060705050.00
Matt Johnston c & b McDonald043000.00
Robert Richards run out 1443571032.55
Michael Johnson not out 6212516911049.60
Drew Porter not out 8612215012170.49
Extras(b 12, lb 4, nb 16, w 11)43
TOTAL(83.3 Ov, RR: 4.04)338/5
Fall of wickets: 1-99 (Wes Robinson, 20.6 ov), 2-127 (Marcus Stoinis, 28.4 ov), 3-129 (Matt Johnston, 29.1 ov), 4-169 (Clint Heron, 41.3 ov), 5-186 (Robert Richards, 45.5 ov)
Grant Lambert2208713.95---613
Mitchell Starc12.324903.92---10
Josh Lalor814405.50---00
Simon Keen1123503.18---00
Greg Mail913013.33---03
Brendon McDonald2147723.66---00
Western Australia Cricket Association Ground, Perth
TossWestern Australia Second XI, elected to field first
SeriesCricket Australia Cup
Players per side12 (11 batting, 11 fielding)
Hours of play (local time)10.30 start, Lunch 12.30-13.10, Tea 15.10-15.30, Close 17.37
Match days6,7,8,9 January 2009 - day (4-day match)
Player Replacement
Australia Image
Nathan Johnstone
Australia Image
Peter Tate
PointsWestern Australia Second XI 6, New South Wales Second XI 2
Tue, 06 Jan - day 1 - NSW 2nd XI 1st innings 312/7 (Peter Nevill 11*, Brendon McDonald 6*, 96 ov)
Wed, 07 Jan - day 2 - WA 2nd XI 1st innings 255/8 (Josh Mangan 16*, Ty Hopes 2*, 72 ov)
Thu, 08 Jan - day 3 - NSW 2nd XI 2nd innings 242
Fri, 09 Jan - day 4 - WA 2nd XI 2nd innings 338/5 (83.3 ov) - end of match
  • MJ Johnston (1) retired hurt on 37* from 180/3 (39.3 ov) to 226/7.
  • LA Pomersbach did not attend the ground on day 4. He was latter suspended and fined for not attending.