Matches (18)
IND v AUS (1)
PAK v ENG (1)
UAE v BAN (1)
CPL (2)
WI-W v NZ-W (1)
Marsh Cup (1)
Road Safety (2)
WT20 WC QLF (4)
RHF Trophy (1)
Legends League (1)
ENG-W v IND-W (1)
Duleep Trophy (1)
NZ-A in IND (1)
1st Test, Kolkata, January 29 - February 02, 1993, England tour of India
(T:79) 371 & 82/2
(f/o) 163 & 286

India won by 8 wickets

Player Of The Match
India 1st Innings
England 1st Innings
England 2nd Innings (Following on)
India 2nd Innings
Match Details
India 1st Innings 
Manoj Prabhakar c Lewis b Salisbury461201753038.33
Navjot Sidhu c Hick b Taylor13731013017.80
Vinod Kambli c Hick b Jarvis1628431057.14
Sachin Tendulkar c Hick b Malcolm501181586042.37
Mohammad Azharuddin (c)c Gooch b Hick18219732612192.38
Pravin Amre c Hick b Jarvis1274880016.21
Kapil Dev c Lewis b Hick1350700026.00
Kiran More not out 46172006.55
Anil Kumble  b Malcolm01118000.00
Rajesh Chauhan  b Malcolm2530040.00
Venkatapathy Raju c Salisbury b Hick11316007.69
Extras(b 6, lb 6, nb 10, w 10)32
TOTAL122.5 Ov (RR: 3.02)371
Fall of wickets: 1-49 (Navjot Sidhu), 2-78 (Vinod Kambli), 3-93 (Manoj Prabhakar), 4-216 (Sachin Tendulkar), 5-278 (Pravin Amre), 6-346 (Kapil Dev), 7-362 (Mohammad Azharuddin), 8-368 (Anil Kumble), 9-370 (Rajesh Chauhan), 10-371 (Venkatapathy Raju)
Devon Malcolm2436732.79---00
Paul Jarvis2757222.66---00
Chris Lewis2356402.78---00
Paul Taylor1926513.42---00
Ian Salisbury1727214.23---00
Graeme Hick12.551931.48---00
England 1st Innings 
Graham Gooch (c)c Azharuddin b Raju1759682028.81
Alec Stewart  b Prabhakar015000.00
Mike Gatting  b Chauhan331431602023.07
Robin Smith c Amre b Kumble11511006.66
Graeme Hick  b Kumble11211008.33
Neil Fairbrother c †More b Kumble1768870125.00
Ian Salisbury c †More b Chauhan281621835017.28
Chris Lewis  b Raju2162654033.87
Paul Jarvis c Prabhakar b Raju48101050.00
Paul Taylor st †More b Chauhan1760651028.33
Devon Malcolm not out 411230036.36
Extras(b 8, lb 8, w 4)20
TOTAL100.1 Ov (RR: 1.62)163
Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Alec Stewart), 2-37 (Graham Gooch), 3-38 (Robin Smith), 4-40 (Graeme Hick), 5-87 (Mike Gatting), 6-89 (Neil Fairbrother), 7-111 (Chris Lewis), 8-119 (Paul Jarvis), 9-149 (Paul Taylor), 10-163 (Ian Salisbury)
Kapil Dev611803.00---00
Manoj Prabhakar931011.11---00
Anil Kumble2985031.72---00
Venkatapathy Raju27143931.44---00
Rajesh Chauhan29.1153031.02---00
England 2nd Innings (Following on) 
Graham Gooch (c)st †More b Kumble1840522045.00
Alec Stewart c Tendulkar b Kumble491271335138.58
Mike Gatting  b Chauhan8116519112149.09
Robin Smith c †More b Chauhan874591010.81
Graeme Hick lbw b Raju2543553158.13
Neil Fairbrother c sub (WV Raman) b Kumble251131251022.12
Chris Lewis c Amre b Raju1644443036.36
Paul Jarvis lbw b Raju620180030.00
Ian Salisbury c †More b Kapil Dev261091384023.85
Paul Taylor not out 1791872018.68
Devon Malcolm lbw b Kapil Dev011000.00
Extras(lb 13, nb 2)15
TOTAL137.2 Ov (RR: 2.08)286
Fall of wickets: 1-48 (Graham Gooch), 2-111 (Alec Stewart), 3-145 (Robin Smith), 4-192 (Mike Gatting), 5-192 (Graeme Hick), 6-216 (Chris Lewis), 7-234 (Paul Jarvis), 8-254 (Neil Fairbrother), 9-286 (Ian Salisbury), 10-286 (Devon Malcolm)
Kapil Dev8.251221.44---00
Manoj Prabhakar942602.88---00
Anil Kumble40167631.90---00
Venkatapathy Raju3598032.28---00
Rajesh Chauhan45177921.75---00
India 2nd Innings (T: 79 runs)
Manoj Prabhakar  b Hick1364850020.31
Navjot Sidhu st †Stewart b Hick37681025154.41
Vinod Kambli not out 1826332069.23
Sachin Tendulkar not out 919172047.36
Extras(lb 4, nb 1)5
TOTAL29.2 Ov (RR: 2.79)82/2
Fall of wickets: 1-51 (Manoj Prabhakar), 2-62 (Navjot Sidhu)
Devon Malcolm611602.66---00
Paul Jarvis5.212304.31---00
Paul Taylor31903.00---00
Ian Salisbury631602.66---00
Chris Lewis31501.66---00
Graeme Hick61921.50---00
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Eden Gardens, Calcutta
TossIndia, elected to bat first
Player Of The Match
Mohammad Azharuddin
Series resultIndia led the 3-match series 1-0
Match numberTest no. 1211
Match daysday (5-day match)
Test debut
Paul Taylor
Paul Taylor
Rajesh Chauhan
Rajesh Chauhan
Vinod Kambli
Vinod Kambli
Piloo Reporter
Srinivas Venkataraghavan
Match Referee
West Indies
Cammie Smith
Fri, 29 Jan - day 1 - India 1st innings 263/4 (Mohammad Azharuddin 114*, Pravin Amre 7*)
Sat, 30 Jan - day 2 - England 1st innings 88/5 (Neil Fairbrother 17*, Ian Salisbury 0*)
Sun, 31 Jan - day 3 - England 2nd innings 128/2 (Mike Gatting 48*, Robin Smith 2*)
Mon, 01 Feb - day 4 - India 2nd innings 36/0 (Manoj Prabhakar 12*, Navjot Sidhu 20*)
Tue, 02 Feb - day 5 - India 2nd innings 82/2 (29.2 ov) - end of match
  • 12th men: WV Raman (Ind) and PCR Tufnell (Eng).
  • Gooch became 14th player (5th from England) to appear in 100 tests.
  • Venkataraghavan became the first former Indian player to umpire in a test match.
  • Ind 1st innings
  • Azhar's 100 in 174 min, 114 balls, 17x4 182 in 326 min, 197 balls, 26x4, 1x6
  • Tendulkar 50 in 158 min, 118 balls, 6x4
  • Prabhakar 46 in 175 min, 120 balls, 3x4
  • Eng 2nd innings
  • Stewart 49 in 133 min, 127 balls, 5x4, 1x6
  • Gatting 81 in 191 min, 165 balls, 12x4, 1x6
  • India's 12th victory over England
AskESPNcricinfo Logo

Instant answers to T20 questions

India Innings
<1 / 3>