Final, London, Jul 25 2009, Friends Provident Trophy
(40.3/50 ov, target 220)221/4
Hampshire won by 6 wickets (with 57 balls remaining)
player of the match
Dominic Cork
Sussex INNINGS (50 overs maximum)
Ed Joyce  b Cork1521242071.42
Chris Nash lbw b Cork2132423065.62
Matt Prior c †Pothas b Cork02-000.00
Murray Goodwin run out (Tremlett)11327007.69
Michael Yardy (c)not out 921271717072.44
Luke Wright  b Tremlett726350026.92
Dwayne Smith c Carberry b Imran Tahir20202701100.00
Rory Hamilton-Brown c Mascarenhas b Imran Tahir3239504082.05
Yasir Arafat c †Pothas b Mascarenhas991200100.00
Robin Martin-Jenkins c Benham b Cork48130050.00
James Kirtley not out 3470075.00
Extras(lb 9, nb 2, w 4)15
TOTAL(50 Ov, RR: 4.38)219/9
Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Ed Joyce), 2-30 (Matt Prior), 3-39 (Chris Nash), 4-43 (Murray Goodwin), 5-77 (Luke Wright), 6-111 (Dwayne Smith), 7-171 (Rory Hamilton-Brown), 8-186 (Yasir Arafat), 9-203 (Robin Martin-Jenkins)
Dominic Cork1014144.09---00
Dimitri Mascarenhas902713.00---00
Imran Tahir1005025.00---00
Chris Tremlett1004014.00---10
Sean Ervine603105.16---11
Liam Dawson502104.20---10
Hampshire INNINGS (target: 220 runs from 50 overs)
Michael Lumb c †Prior b Wright3858934065.51
Jimmy Adams lbw b Wright5565806084.61
Michael Carberry c & b Yasir Arafat30232530130.43
Sean Ervine c Nash b Wright1520301175.00
Chris Benham not out 3748624177.08
Nic Pothas not out 35314351112.90
Extras(lb 2, nb 4, w 5)11
TOTAL(40.3 Ov, RR: 5.45)221/4
Fall of wickets: 1-93 (Jimmy Adams), 2-110 (Michael Lumb), 3-137 (Michael Carberry), 4-154 (Sean Ervine)
James Kirtley502605.20---10
Yasir Arafat1005415.40---31
Robin Martin-Jenkins402105.25---10
Luke Wright915035.55---01
Chris Nash301505.00---00
Rory Hamilton-Brown3.302707.71---00
Michael Yardy612604.33---00
Lord's, London
TossSussex, elected to bat first
SeriesFriends Provident Trophy
Player Of The Match
Dominic Cork
Dominic Cork
Series resultHampshire won the 2009 Friends Provident Trophy
Hours of play (local time)10.45 start, First Session 10.45-14.15, Interval 14.15-15.00, Second Session 15.00-18.30.
Match days25 July 2009 - day(50-over match)
England Image
Neil Mallender
England Image
Nigel Llong
TV Umpire
England Image
Rob Bailey
  • Sussex innings
  • MH Yardy 50 in 99 mins off 76 balls, 4 fours.
  • Hampshire innings
  • JHK Adams 50 in 72 mins off 57 balls, 6 fours.