Northern Districts 129 for 3 (Watling 46*, Harris 40) beat Wellington 128 (Birt 44, Laughlin 6-28) by seven wickets

Ben Laughlin, the Australia fast bowler, took six wickets to set up a comfortable win for Northern Districts over Wellington at Basin Reserve. Laughlin's figures of 6 for 28 equalled the record in New Zealand domestic T20s, set by Ian Butler for Otago against Auckland in January 2010.

Wellington were on firm footing at 103 for 3 in the 15th over after choosing to bat when Laughlin turned the game on its head. He struck thrice in that over, and thrice more in his next over, the 17th of the innings. A shocked Wellington, reduced to 116 for 9 by then, were bowled out for 128 in the final over.

Tim Southee had claimed Michael Pollard off the fourth ball of the match but Wellington moved on quickly through contributions from Travis Birt (44) and Michael Papps (32). Both batsmen had departed when Laughlin set about Wellington.

Stephen Murdoch was his first victim, after which he bowled James Franklin and Luke Woodcock in the same over. Jeetan Patel was the first to go in Laughlin's next over. Henry Walsh was bowled three deliveries later, and Brent Arnel went caught behind next ball.

Northern Districts lost captain Daniel Flynn cheaply, but Brad Wilson (24) and Daniel Harris steadied the chase. BJ Watling, who survived a missed run-out chance, then reeled off an unbeaten 46 off 32 as the target was achieved in the penultimate over.