Final, The Oval, Sep 25 2004, ICC Champions Trophy
(48.5/50 ov)218/8
West Indies won by 2 wickets (with 7 balls remaining)
Player Of The Match
34* (51) & 2/54
Player Of The Series
166 runs
England INNINGS (50 overs maximum)
Marcus Trescothick run out (Lara/Gayle)10412421414083.87
Vikram Solanki c †Browne b Bradshaw413190030.76
Michael Vaughan (c) b Bradshaw718251038.88
Andrew Strauss run out (Bravo)1833452054.54
Andrew Flintoff c Lara b WW Hinds36100050.00
Paul Collingwood c Chanderpaul b WW Hinds1640411040.00
Geraint Jones c Lara b WW Hinds618190033.33
Ashley Giles c Lara b Bravo3137473083.78
Alex Wharf not out 36120050.00
Darren Gough st †Browne b Gayle012000.00
Steve Harmison run out 22100100.00
Extras(b 1, lb 7, w 15)23
TOTAL(49.4 Ov, RR: 4.36)217
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Vikram Solanki, 4.2 ov), 2-43 (Michael Vaughan, 10.3 ov), 3-84 (Andrew Strauss, 19.6 ov), 4-93 (Andrew Flintoff, 22.1 ov), 5-123 (Paul Collingwood, 32.3 ov), 6-148 (Geraint Jones, 38.2 ov), 7-211 (Marcus Trescothick, 47.4 ov), 8-212 (Ashley Giles, 48.3 ov), 9-214 (Darren Gough, 49.1 ov), 10-217 (Steve Harmison, 49.4 ov)
Ian Bradshaw1015425.40358030
Corey Collymore1013803.80425030
Chris Gayle9.405215.37224000
Dwayne Bravo1004114.10372090
Wavell Hinds1032432.40422000
West Indies INNINGS (target: 218 runs from 50 overs)
Chris Gayle c & b Harmison2333475069.69
Wavell Hinds c Solanki b Harmison316170018.75
Ramnaresh Sarwan c Strauss b Flintoff57181071.42
Brian Lara (c)c †Jones b Flintoff1428452050.00
Shivnarine Chanderpaul c Vaughan b Collingwood47661196071.21
Dwayne Bravo c †Jones b Flintoff078000.00
Ryan Hinds c †Jones b Trescothick819281042.10
Ricardo Powell c Trescothick b Collingwood1416202087.50
Courtney Browne not out 3555882063.63
Ian Bradshaw not out 3451685066.66
Extras(lb 11, nb 5, w 19)35
TOTAL(48.5 Ov, RR: 4.46)218/8
Did not bat: Corey Collymore 
Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Wavell Hinds, 3.5 ov), 2-35 (Ramnaresh Sarwan, 8.1 ov), 3-49 (Chris Gayle, 9.4 ov), 4-72 (Brian Lara, 16.3 ov), 5-80 (Dwayne Bravo, 18.3 ov), 6-114 (Ryan Hinds, 24.5 ov), 7-135 (Ricardo Powell, 29.2 ov), 8-147 (Shivnarine Chanderpaul, 33.4 ov)
Darren Gough1015805.80377050
Steve Harmison1013423.40465030
Andrew Flintoff1003833.80414024
Alex Wharf9.503803.86415001
Marcus Trescothick301715.6691020
Paul Collingwood602223.66222010
Kennington Oval, London
TossWest Indies, elected to field first
SeriesICC Champions TrophyWest Indies tour of England
Player Of The Match
Ian Bradshaw
Ian Bradshaw
Player Of The Series
Ramnaresh Sarwan
Ramnaresh Sarwan
Series resultWest Indies won the 2004 ICC Champions Trophy
Match numberODI no. 2182
Match daysday (50-over match)
South Africa Image
Rudi Koertzen
Australia Image
Simon Taufel
TV Umpire
Australia Image
Darrell Hair
Match Referee
Sri Lanka Image
Ranjan Madugalle
  • 4th (reserve) umpire: JH Evans
  • England 100 in 25.5 overs (Trescothick 48*, Collingwood 6*)
  • ME Trescothick 100 in 207 mins off 122 balls, 13x4