Final, King City, Aug 24 2008, Scotiabank Series
(27.3/50 ov, target 180)181/3
West Indies won by 7 wickets (with 135 balls remaining)
player of the match
Chris Gayle
West Indies
Canada INNINGS (50 overs maximum)
Mohammad Iqbal run out (Chattergoon)01-000.00
Rizwan Cheema c sub (KAJ Roach) b Powell6145-83135.56
Ashish Bagai lbw b Taylor313-0023.08
Abdool Samad  b Taylor42-10200.00
Ramesh David  b Miller2868-5041.18
Sunil Dhaniram (c)run out (Nash)02-000.00
Ashif Mulla c †Baugh b Miller1447-1029.79
Balaji Rao  b Nash1022-1045.45
Karun Jethi run out (Nash)1822-3081.82
Harvir Baidwan not out 1333-0039.39
Eion Katchay  b Taylor1227-0044.44
Extras(lb 3, nb 1, w 12)16
TOTAL(46.5 Ov, RR: 3.82)179
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Mohammad Iqbal, 0.1 ov), 2-28 (Ashish Bagai, 4.6 ov), 3-54 (Abdool Samad, 6.2 ov), 4-99 (Rizwan Cheema, 14.4 ov), 5-99 (Sunil Dhaniram, 15.6 ov), 6-120 (Ramesh David, 26.1 ov), 7-133 (Ashif Mulla, 32.2 ov), 8-141 (Balaji Rao, 35.3 ov), 9-154 (Karun Jethi, 37.4 ov), 10-179 (Eion Katchay, 46.5 ov)
Jerome Taylor6.523334.83276130
Daren Powell615018.33215130
Dave Mohammed1023103.10442100
Nikita Miller1041821.80523000
Brendan Nash1013313.30413021
Sewnarine Chattergoon401102.75150000
West Indies INNINGS (target: 180 runs from 50 overs)
Sewnarine Chattergoon lbw b Baidwan2342-3054.76
Chris Gayle (c)not out 11077-146142.86
Carlton Baugh  b Balaji Rao2941-4070.73
Leon Johnson  b Balaji Rao19-0011.11
Xavier Marshall not out 41-10400.00
Extras(b 4, lb 1, nb 5, w 4)14
TOTAL(27.3 Ov, RR: 6.58)181/3
Fall of wickets: 1-88 (Sewnarine Chattergoon, 12.6 ov), 2-165 (Carlton Baugh, 24.5 ov), 3-173 (Leon Johnson, 26.5 ov)
Eion Katchay403408.50157002
Harvir Baidwan703815.43295132
Balaji Rao705027.14248100
Ramesh David10909.0011001
Rizwan Cheema511903.80200110
Sunil Dhaniram1019019.0020300
Karun Jethi21301.5090000
Abdool Samad0.30408.0021000
Maple Leaf North-West Ground, King City
TossWest Indies, elected to field first
SeriesScotiabank Series
Player Of The Match
Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle
Player Of The Series
Rizwan Cheema
Rizwan Cheema
Series resultWest Indies won the 2008 Scotiabank Series
Match numberODI no. 2752
Hours of play (local time)11.00 start, First Session 11.00-14.30 Interval 14.30-15.15, Second Session 15.15-18.45
Match days24 August 2008 - day match (50-over match)
ODI debut
Balaji Rao
Balaji Rao
Australia Image
Darrell Hair
Bermuda Image
Roger Dill
Reserve Umpire
Canada Image
Ken Patel
Match Referee
Sri Lanka Image
Ranjan Madugalle
  • AA Mulla kept wicket from the start of West Indies innings to the lunch break at 8 overs. A Bagai resumed behind the stumps.