Victoria 305 & 8 for 591 dec beat Queensland 257 & 182 (Carseldine 75, McGain 4-70) by 457 runs
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Victoria claimed back-to-back Sheffield Shield trophies for the first time since 1980 after Bryce McGain bowled them to a 457-run victory at the MCG. McGain collected an impressive 4 for 70 and John Hastings chipped in with three wickets as Queensland were dismissed for 182, giving the Bushrangers their 28th first-class domestic title.

Chasing an impossible 640 for victory, the Bulls resisted for 58.4 overs before the locals were able to start their celebrations. Queensland lost both their openers early on the fifth day when Wade Townsend (19) was bowled by a big legspinner from McGain and Ryan Broad (14) followed with an edge behind off Darren Pattinson.

McGain also dislodged Chris Lynn (21) when he missed one playing back and Pattinson followed up by having Chris Simpson taken behind for 0. Lee Carseldine held up the hosts with 75 before he was lbw to Hastings, who then caught Ben Cutting off McGain.

Hastings soon had Chris Swan gloving behind off a short ball and was on a hat-trick when Luke Feldman was trapped in front to an inswinger to the final ball of his over. He didn't get a chance at the milestone as McGain picked up Cameron Boyce lbw and James Hopes didn't bat due to a hamstring injury.

Over the first half of the final it was a tight contest, with Victoria taking a 48-run lead on first innings, but the scenario changed when the hosts piled on 591 before declaring eight wickets down. The trophy win reconfirmed Victoria's domestic dominance and adds to their win in this summer's Twenty20 and runner-up finish in the FR Cup.