Matches (18)
ZIM v IND (1)
LPL (2)
TNPL (2)
RHF Trophy (3)
T20 Blast (7)
MLC (2)
ENG v NZ (W) (1)
Central Zone, Nagpur, March 17, 2013, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy
(19.1/20 ov, T:131) 131/4

UP won by 6 wickets (with 5 balls remaining)


Irfan takes three in Baroda win

A round-up of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy matches played on March 17

ESPNcricinfo staff

West Zone

Irfan Pathan took three wickets as Baroda beat Mumbai by 55 runs in Ahmedabad. Baroda put up an imposing 194 for 3, thanks to a power packing innings of 101 off 63 balls by Aditya Waghmode. This was his first T20 century, and he was supported by contributions from Kedar Devdhar (23) and Yusuf Pathan (40*). Mumbai, in reply, were 13 for 3 as Irfan Pathan, playing his first match after recovering from a knee injury sustained during a Ranji Trophy match in November 2012, struck two early blows. Aditya Tare's 62 along with Siddharth Chitnis 21, proved to be the only form of resistance as the team struggled to 139 for 9.
Asad Pathan's swashbuckling 87 not out led Gujarat to an eight-wicket win over Maharashtra. Chasing a target of 148, Pathan dominated the bowlers to take his side to victory in 14.2 overs. His innings included six fours and seven sixes. Earlier, Gujarat restricted Maharashtra to 147 for 8, led by Nikhil Naik's 52. Mehul Patel and Akshar Patel picked up three wickets apiece.

North Zone

Himachal Pradesh won a low-scoring thriller by one run against Services in Rohtak. Almost all of Services' bowlers contributed, with Himachal Pradesh stuttering to 78 all out in the 19th over. Only three batsmen got into double-figures, as Shadab Nazar and Abhishek Sakuja picked up three a piece. Services were in all sorts of trouble, as they limped to 28 for 6. Only the bowlers got into double-digit scores as a few run-outs at the end of the innings ensured Himachal held on for a one-run victory, with Sakuja run out of the penultimate ball.
Haryana's bowlers contributed to their victory over Punjab by 47 runs in Rohtak. Haryana scored 150 for 4 in their 20 overs, led by Sachin Hooda's 56 and Rahul Dalal's unbeaten 40. Punjab were unable to string substantial partnerships through the course of their innings, with Ajit Chandila taking three, and Amit Mishra and Harshal Patel picking up two each. They were skittled out for 103 in the 18th over.

East Zone

Assam crumbled to a 53-run defeat against Bengal in Agartala. Set a target of 131, Assam folded for a paltry 77, with only two batsmen scoring runs in double figures. Sayan Mondal was the pick of the Bengal bowlers, picking up 3 for 13, while Shami Ahmed picked up 2 for 13. Earlier, Shreevats Goswami top-scored with 43, as Bengal finished their innings at 130 for 5.
Odisha registered a 22-run win over Tripura in Agartala. Put in to bat, Odisha piled up 172 for 8 in their 20 overs, with half-centuries from Bikas Pati (64) and Govind Podder (52). In reply, Tripura were restricted to 150 for 6. A 58-run, second-wicket partnership between Ajay Ratra and Udiyan Bose gave Tripura a good platform, but Odisha bowler Rakesh Mohanty dismissed three batsmen quickly to leave Tripura 22 runs adrift.

Central Zone

Uttar Pradesh successfully chased Railways target in Nagpur to win by six wickets. After being reduced to 4 for 34, Karan Sharma (62*) and Ashish Yadav (44) led a recovery for Railways to finish on 130 for 5. Praveen Kumar had best figures of 3 for 22. UP were able to string regular partnerships, as Akshdeep Nath and Piyush Chawla finished the game off in the 18th over.
Vidarbha edged Rajathan in a low-scoring match in Nagpur by 10 runs. Vidarbha were unable to put together regular partnerships, with Akshay Kolhar top-scoring with 34 at the top of the order. Aniket Choudhary and Ashok Menaria picked up three wickets apiece, as Vidarbha stuttered to 113 for 9. Rajasthan started in horror fashion, reduced to 6 for 4. All of Rajasthan's bowlers picked up wickets, led by Amol Jungade's 3 for 12. Contributions from Dishant Yagnik (26), Raman Chahar (17) and Madhur Khatri (15*) were not enough as they finished 10 short of the target.

South Zone

L Balaji's four-wicket haul helped Tamil Nadu beat Andhra by eight wickets. Batting first, Andhra were dismissed for 106, as Balaji and Rahil Shah struck regularly. AG Pradeep tried guiding Andhra towards a substantial total, but had no support from the other batsmen. In reply, Tamil Nadu chased down the total with ease, guided by unbeaten 30s from Abhinav Mukund and S Badrinath.
Kerala registered a six-wicket win against Hyderabad in Shimoga, reaching their target with two balls to spare. Put in to bat, Hyderabad scored 133 for 6, affected by two run-outs in the innings. In reply, Kerala were cruising at 123 for 2 in the 18th over, before the wickets of Nikhilesh Surendran and Sachin Baby slowed down the chase. They eventually scored the winning runs in the 20th over.
Fifties from openers Mayanka Agarwal and Manish Pandey helped Karnataka ease past Goa by nine wickets in Shimoga. Chasing a total of 120 for victory, the openers put on 108 runs before Pandey guided the side home in the 19th over. Earlier, Goa were hampered due to as many as three run-outs in their innings. Wicketkeeper Keenan Vaz top scored with 38.

AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
UP Innings
<1 / 3>

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Central Zone
East Zone
Group A
Group B
North Zone
J + K5050-0.827
South Zone
West Zone