Group A

A tidy bowling performance and a collective batting effort helped Madhya Pradesh beat Jharkhand by nine runs in Bhubaneswar.

Chasing 154, Jharkhand had a decent start with each of their top four reaching double-figures. However, none managed a substantial contribution, leaving Jharkhand precariously placed at 81 for 5. Kaushal Singh, 18, then counterattacked his way to an unbeaten 50 off 28 balls, but it was not enough to prevent Jharkhand from sinking to their second successive defeat in the Super League. Harpreet Singh capped off a fine day, picking up two wickets to add to his 31 off 21 balls.

After being put in, Jharkhand lost Mohnish Mishra in the second over, but a string of 20-plus scores, led by Harpreet's rapid knock, steered them to 153. Prakash Seet's double-strike in the final over marginally pegged back Jharkhand, but it eventually proved futile, much like Kaushal's maiden T20 fifty.

Seamer Rohit Dahiya returned figures of 4 for 31 to rout Himachal Pradesh for 124 and set up a six-wicket win for Gujarat in Bhubaneshwar.

Having opted to bat, HP had a solid base, with Ankush Bains and Ajay Rana putting up a 41-run opening partnership. However, both fell to Dahiya in the space of three balls. Prashant Chopra then cracked 40 off 28 balls, but lacked support from the other end. Dahiya accounted for Chopra and Dhawan in the 16th over ; a double-strike that triggered a freefall as HP went from 106 for 3 to 124 all out.

Dahiya was ably complemented by Jasprit Bumrah, who collected three wickets.

Smit Patel and Priyank Panchal gave Gujarat a strong start in their chase, adding 58 for the first wicket. Though both departed in quick succession, and Manprit Juneja and Chirag Gandhi followed soon after, Jesal Karia and Rujul Bhatt sealed Gujarat's second win in the Super League with 11 balls to spare.

Group B

Rajasthan rode on a strong batting performance to beat Odisha by six wickets in Cuttack.

Opting to field, Rajasthan restricted Odisha to 162, with Chandrapal Singh and Manjeet Singh taking two wickets each. Anurag Sarangi and Roshan Kumar Rao added 25 before Puneet Yadav broke the opening stand by dismissing Sarangi for 21 off 14 balls. Chandrapal then sent back Roshan Kumar to leave them at 42 for 2 in the seventh over.

Govinda Podder and Shesdeep Patra, though, strung together a 49-run partnership, which ended with the fall of Patra's wicket in the 15th over. Odisha lost two more wickets in the space of six balls, as they slipped to 100 for 5.

Podder struck 61 from 44, and was aided by an eight-ball 28 from Suryakant Pradhan, as Odisha finished strong on 162 for 7.

Pradhan then came back to trouble Rajasthan with the ball, removing Suryaprakash Suwalka in the second over of the chase.

Ankit Lamba, though, assumed charge and added 59 with Sourabh Chouhan (35) before joining hands with Ashok Menaria (42), who had also produced a frugal spell early on. Though Menaria and Rajesh Bishnoi were undone by the pair of Arabind Singh and Deepak Behera in the penultimate over, Lamba remained unbeaten on 67 off 49 balls to guide Rajasthan home with two balls to spare.

Jaskaranveer Singh's unbeaten 69-ball 114 helped Punjab beat Mumbai by 5 runs in a rain-curtailed game in Cuttack.

Choosing to bat, Punjab started sedately, their openers putting on 59 before Abhishek Raut removed Manan Vohra for 21 in the 10th over. Jaskaranveer, the other opener, continued to pile on the runs even as wickets fell steadily at the other end, with Himanshu Chawla the only other Punjab batsman to get into double figures. Raut picked up two more wickets and Jay Bista inflicted two run-outs, but Jaskaranveer, hitting 12 fours and five sixes in his maiden T20 hundred, lifted Punjab to 173 for 6.

Mumbai lost opener Shoaib Shaikh in the second over of their chase when he was trapped leg before by Sandeep Sharma. A rain delay forced Mumbai's target to be revised to 82 in eight overs, by the VJD method. The loss of Akhil Herwadkar left them at 18 for 2, but Bista kept them in sight of their target with a 23-ball 47, before his dismissal in the final over. Mumbai needed nine to win from the last two balls, but Taruwar Kohli only conceded three to win the game for his side.