2nd Test, Faisalabad, Oct 24 - 26 1996, Zimbabwe tour of Pakistan
133 & 200
(target 67)267 & 69/0
Pakistan won by 10 wickets
Player Of The Match
6/48, 35 & 4/58
Player Of The Series
292 runs • 11 wkts
Zimbabwe 1st INNINGS
Grant Flower  b Wasim Akram1525292060.00
Mark Dekker c †Moin Khan b Wasim Akram1943602044.18
Craig Wishart lbw b Waqar Younis0112000.00
Dave Houghton  b Wasim Akram1360033.33
Alistair Campbell (c)c †Moin Khan b Saqlain Mushtaq921331042.85
Andy Flower c Mohammad Hussain b Shahid Nazir611441837042.36
Guy Whittall  b Wasim Akram951651017.64
Paul Strang c Saleem Malik b Mohammad Hussain323340013.04
Bryan Strang  b Wasim Akram11415007.14
Pommie Mbangwa  b Wasim Akram02332000.00
Everton Matambanadzo not out 017000.00
Extras(b 4, lb 10, nb 1)15
TOTAL(57.5 Ov, RR: 2.29, 244 Mts)133
Fall of wickets: 1-22 (Grant Flower), 2-33 (Craig Wishart), 3-34 (Dave Houghton), 4-49 (Mark Dekker), 5-55 (Alistair Campbell), 6-102 (Guy Whittall), 7-111 (Paul Strang), 8-118 (Bryan Strang), 9-129 (Pommie Mbangwa), 10-133 (Andy Flower)
Wasim Akram2084862.40---01
Waqar Younis1161311.18---00
Saqlain Mushtaq1552811.86---01
Shahid Nazir5.502313.94---00
Mohammad Hussain63711.16---00
Pakistan 1st INNINGS
Saeed Anwar c †A Flower b Matambanadzo819712616083.50
Aamer Sohail lbw b Matambanadzo26110033.33
Ijaz Ahmed c †A Flower b Mbangwa216120012.50
Saleem Malik c †A Flower b BC Strang1833582054.54
Hasan Raza c Houghton b BC Strang2748645056.25
Wasim Akram (c) b Mbangwa3547677074.46
Moin Khan c †A Flower b BC Strang5810013611058.00
Mohammad Hussain run out (GW Flower)0711000.00
Saqlain Mushtaq not out 15881151017.04
Waqar Younis  b GW Flower2332365071.87
Shahid Nazir lbw b PA Strang1360033.33
Extras(lb 4, nb 1)5
TOTAL(79.1 Ov, RR: 3.37, 331 Mts)267
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Aamer Sohail), 2-10 (Ijaz Ahmed), 3-67 (Saleem Malik), 4-127 (Saeed Anwar), 5-141 (Hasan Raza), 6-194 (Wasim Akram), 7-200 (Mohammad Hussain), 8-235 (Moin Khan), 9-264 (Waqar Younis), 10-267 (Shahid Nazir)
Everton Matambanadzo1106225.63---00
Pommie Mbangwa1716723.94---00
Bryan Strang1865332.94---01
Guy Whittall741101.57---00
Paul Strang24.186612.73---00
Grant Flower20412.00---00
Zimbabwe 2nd INNINGS
Grant Flower lbw b Wasim Akram022000.00
Mark Dekker lbw b Waqar Younis016000.00
Craig Wishart c Saleem Malik b Waqar Younis729391024.13
Dave Houghton lbw b Wasim Akram731021528171.56
Alistair Campbell (c)c †Moin Khan b Shahid Nazir52871246059.77
Andy Flower c Saeed Anwar b Waqar Younis2341724056.09
Guy Whittall lbw b Shahid Nazir069000.00
Paul Strang  b Waqar Younis936471025.00
Bryan Strang not out 1328453046.42
Everton Matambanadzo  b Wasim Akram714340050.00
Pommie Mbangwa lbw b Wasim Akram2330066.66
Extras(lb 8, nb 6)14
TOTAL(57.4 Ov, RR: 3.46, 271 Mts)200
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Grant Flower), 2-0 (Mark Dekker), 3-23 (Craig Wishart), 4-136 (Dave Houghton), 5-136 (Alistair Campbell), 6-140 (Guy Whittall), 7-169 (Paul Strang), 8-174 (Andy Flower), 9-198 (Everton Matambanadzo), 10-200 (Pommie Mbangwa)
Wasim Akram18.445843.10---04
Waqar Younis1535443.60---01
Saqlain Mushtaq713404.85---00
Shahid Nazir1152522.27---00
Mohammad Hussain411403.50---00
Saleem Malik20703.50---00
Pakistan 2nd INNINGS (target: 67 runs)
Saeed Anwar not out 5066859075.75
Aamer Sohail not out 1847853038.29
Extras(w 1)1
TOTAL(18.5 Ov, RR: 3.66)69
Everton Matambanadzo502705.40---00
Pommie Mbangwa731402.00---00
Bryan Strang4.512004.13---10
Paul Strang20804.00---00
Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad
TossZimbabwe, elected to bat first
SeriesZimbabwe tour of Pakistan
Player Of The Match
Wasim Akram
Wasim Akram
Player Of The Series
Wasim Akram
Wasim Akram
Series resultPakistan won the 2-match series 1-0
Match numberTest no. 1337
Match daysday (5-day match)
Test debut
Everton Matambanadzo
Everton Matambanadzo
Hasan Raza
Hasan Raza
Mohammad Hussain
Mohammad Hussain
Pommie Mbangwa
Pommie Mbangwa
New Zealand Image
Doug Cowie
Pakistan Image
Mahboob Shah
TV Umpire
Pakistan Image
Shakeel Khan
Match Referee
West Indies Image
Jackie Hendriks
Thu, 24 Oct - day 1 - Pakistan 1st innings 114/3 (Saeed Anwar 69*, Hasan Raza 20*)
Fri, 25 Oct - day 2 - Zimbabwe 2nd innings 136/3 (Dave Houghton 73*, Alistair Campbell 51*)
Sat, 26 Oct - day 3 - Pakistan 2nd innings 69/0 (18.5 ov) - end of match
  • Hasan Raza makes his debut as the youngest Test cricketer ever, at 14 years, 227 days, beating the previous mark of 15 yrs, 124 days, set by Mushtaq Mohammed.
  • Doubts about Raza's birthdate and medical tests later resulted in the PCB withdrawing the record claim, His actual age is uncertain, but is likely around 15 at the time of debut.
Day 1
  • A Flower 50 (107), 130 mins, 6x4
  • Saeed Anwar 50 (61), 95 mins, 9x4
Day 2
  • DL Houghton 50 (72), 105 mins, 6x4
  • ADR Campbell 50 (69), 102 mins, 6x4
Day 3
  • Saeed Anwar 50 (66), 85 mins, 9x4
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions