The ICC has announced that Namibia has been selected to host ICC World Cricket League Division Two from January 17-24. The host side will be joined by Canada, Kenya, Netherlands and the top two teams promoted from Division Three in the six-team round-robin event. The ICC also reconfirmed that Uganda will remain host of Division Three, which is scheduled to be held from October 26-November 2, despite security concerns raised by the USA Cricket Association.

Division Two represents a major opportunity for Associates to improve their status as the top teams at the event will qualify to take part in the next edition of the World Cricket League Championship 50-over competition for Associates as well as the four-day ICC Intercontinental Cup. Both competitions will begin later in 2015 and continue through 2017.

In addition to the top teams from Division Two, the other teams that will feature in the next edition of the WCL Championship and Intercontinental Cup are Ireland, Afghanistan, Scotland, UAE, Hong Kong and Papua New Guinea. Ireland and Afghanistan secured qualification to the 2015 World Cup by virtue of finishing first and second in the last edition of the WCL Championship.

Namibia and Kenya were the only two countries to submit bids to host Division Two with Canada and Netherlands unable to host during the northern hemisphere winter. Namibia previously hosted the inaugural WCL Division Two tournament in December 2007, which was won by Oman.